Franklin D. Murphy Lecture Series

The Murphy Lecture Series is sponsored by the Spencer Museum of Art, the Kress Foundation Department of Art History at the University of Kansas, and the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. The lectureship was established in 1979 through the Kansas University Endowment Association in honor of former chancellor Dr. Franklin D. Murphy

Three Alternative Histories of Chinese Painting

by James Cahill

The Liturgy of Love: Images from the "Song of Songs" in the Art of Cimabue, Michelangelo, and Rembrandt

by Marilyn Aronberg Lavin and Irving Lavin

Mynah Birds and Flying Rocks: Word and Image in the Art of Yosa Buson

by John M. Rosenfield

The Body in Time: Figures of Femininity in Late Nineteenth-Century France

by Tamar Garb

Secrets of the Sacred: Empowering Buddhist Images in Clear, in Code, and in Cache

by Helmut Brinker

Hakuho Sculpture

by Donald F. McCallum