Undergraduate Academic Affairs

November 29, 2010

Nominations Sought for 2011 Distinguished Teaching Awards

Undergraduate Academic Affairs

UAA News

Nominations are now being sought for the University’s Distinguished Teaching Award, Excellence in Teaching Award, S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award, and the James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities. Undergraduate Academic Affairs, with support from the President’s Office, annually recognizes faculty, staff and graduate teaching assistants for their outstanding instructional ability, contributions, and achievements.

The Distinguished Teaching Award, given once during the individual’s lifetime, honors several instructors based on a number of criteria, including but not limited to the ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom; innovative course and curriculum design; ability to rouse independent and original thinking in students and mastery of the subject matter.

The Excellence in Teaching Award is given to two graduate teaching assistants for their demonstration of extraordinary ability in the teaching and learning process as a graduate teaching assistant.

The S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award, thanks to a generous gift from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation, is given annually to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including public service internships and community partnership projects. Faculty within the University of Washington are eligible to receive the Munro Award.

The James D. Clowes for the Advancement of Learning Communities honors a faculty or staff member who has a record of helping students learn to function as a learning community while extending their work beyond the classroom into community/internationals contexts. This includes sustaining and renewing students’ efforts at creating peer-designed-and-facilitated learning groups.

To nominate a faculty or staff member or graduate teaching assistant, please submit an online nomination.

Hard copy nominations will not be accepted.

The deadline for all submissions is Friday, December 17, 2010, 5 p.m.