Undergraduate Academic Affairs

November 19, 2009

Nominations Sought for 2010 Distinguished Teaching Awards

Undergraduate Academic Affairs

UAA News

Undergraduate Academic Affairs, with support from the President’s Office, annually recognizes faculty, staff and graduate teaching assistants for their outstanding instructional ability, contributions, and achievements.

Nominations are now being accepted for the University’s Distinguished Teaching Award, Excellence in Teaching Award, and S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award.

The Distinguished Teaching Award, given once during the individual’s lifetime, honors several professors based on a number of criteria, including but not limited to the ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom; innovative course and curriculum design; ability to rouse independent and original thinking in students and mastery of the subject matter.

The Excellence in Teaching Award is given to two graduate teaching assistants for their demonstration of extraordinary ability in the teaching and learning process as a graduate teaching assistant. Recipients of both the Distinguished Teaching and Excellence in Teaching Awards will receive a $5,000 award.

Thanks to a generous gift from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation, the S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award is given annually to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including public service internships and community partnership projects. Faculty within the University of Washington are eligible to receive the Munro Award. The faculty member recognized, will receive a $5000 award.

To nominate a faculty member or graduate teaching assistant, please submit an online nomination at: http://www.washington.edu/uaa/teachingacademy/awards.html.

Hard copy letters are also accepted and can be sent to:
2010 Teaching Awards Selection Committee
Undergraduate Academic Affairs
220 Mary Gates Hall
Box 352800

Letters must be postmarked prior to the deadline and specify the name of the award along with your name, address (postal or campus) and/or e-mail address. To ensure delivery, allow 2-3 days for delivery.

The deadline for all nominations is Friday, December 4, 2009, 5 p.m. Late nominations will not be accepted.

*Due to a decrease in monetary support, the James D. Clowes Award will not be offered.