State Relations

November 14, 2008

State Legislative Election Results Update

Here’s the latest information I have on the state legislative races.

In the state Senate, no real change from last week’s update.  The Democrats appear to have lost one seat with the Republicans gaining one for a 31-18 split.  In the 2nd legislative district (SE Pierce County) longtime Democratic incumbent Marilyn Rasmussen has been defeated by Randi Becker, a retired medical administrator from Eatonville.  Democrats were able to hold open seats in the 40th district (Bellingham, San Juan) where Kevin Ranker is the new Senator-elect replacing the retiring Harriet Spanel and in the 41st district (Bellevue, Mercer Island) where current House member Fred Jarrett will replace the retiring Brian Weinstein.  Incumbent Senators held serve in all remaining races.

In the state House, the latest tally seems to indicate that majority Democrats have also lost one seat, dropping from a current majority of 63-35 to a 62-36 advantage over the Republicans.  Here are the changes by district:

6th District (Spokane).  Both incumbents appear to have lost their seats.  Democratic incumbent Don Barlow was defeated by Republican challenger Kevin Parker.  In the other position, Republican incumbent John Ahern is trailing Democratic challenger John Driscoll, by less than 100 votes.  If these results hold, no net change.

17th District (Clark).  In the race to replace Republican incumbent Jim Dunn (who lost in the August primary), Democrat Tim Probst appears to be the winner over Republican Joseph James.  A pick-up for the Democrats.

26th District (Kitsap, Pierce).  In the race to replace retiring Democrat Pat Lantz, Republican Jan Angel has defeated Democrat Kim Abel by a 53-47 percent majority. A pick-up for the Republicans.

44th District (Snohomish).  Incumbent Democrat Liz Loomis (who was appointed to this seat last year when Jon Lovick was elected Snohomish County sheriff) is narrowly trailing Repubilcan challenger Mike Hope by a little more than 100 votes.  If this result holds, a pick-up for the Republicans.

In all the other races, either existing incumbents were re-elected or party control did not change.  Here is a list of new House members by district.

4th District (Spokane Valley).  Republican Matt Shea replaces the retiring Lynn Shindler.  Shea is executive director of the Washington Family Foundation.

7th District (NE Washington).  Republican Shelly Short replaces Bob Sump who retired this year.  Short is a former congressional staffer for Congresswoman Cathy McMorris- Rodgers.

8th District (Benton).  Republican Brad Klippert succeeds Shirley Hankins who also retired this year.  Klippert’s background is in law enforcement and education.

14th District (Yakima).  Yakima City Councilmember Norm Johnson is the new Republican from this district replacing the retiring Mary Skinner.

25th District (Pierce).  Incumbent Republican Joyce McDonald stepped down to run successfully for the Pierce County Council.  Bruce Dammeier, a partner in a commercial printing business, is the new Republican member from this district.

33rd District (King).  Democrat Tina Orwall, a social worker and affordable housing advocate, replaces the retiring Shay Schaul-Berke in this south King County district.

35th District (Mason, Kitsap).  Democrat Fred Finn, a real estate developer and manager replaces the retiring Bill Eickmeyer.

36th District (Seattle).  Mobile phone and software industry executive and State Community and Technical College board member Reuven Carlyle replaces longtime incumbent Helen Sommers in this race that saw two Democrats face off in the general election.

41st District (Bellevue, Mercer Island).  Democrat Marcie Maxwell, a real estate broker and Renton school district and chamber of commerce member will suceed Democrat Fred Jarrett who moves to the state Senate.

46th District (Seattle).  Scott White, a King County Council staffer defeated Gerry Pollett in another all-Democratic general election in the race to succeed Jim McIntire who was elected State Treasurer.

49th District (Vancouver).  Democrat Jim Jacks won the race to succeed the retiring Bill Fromhold.  Jacks served as Governor Gregoire’s SW Washington representative.