Office of Research

Interdisciplinary Research and eScience

Watch the Webcast

Friday, May 18, 2012

12-1pm at Gerberding 142

Presented by:

  • Edward Lazowska
    Professor and Bill & Melinda Gates Chair, Computer Science & Engineering

    Ed Lazowska holds the Bill & Melinda Gates Chair in Computer Science & Engineering at the University of Washington, where he also serves as the Founding Director of the eScience Institute.

    Lazowska received his A.B. from Brown University in 1972 and his Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in 1977, when he joined the University of Washington faculty. His research and teaching concern the design, implementation, and analysis of high performance computing and communication systems, and, more recently, the techniques and technologies of data-intensive science.

    Lazowska is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, ACM, IEEE, and AAAS. He recently co-chaired (with David E. Shaw) the Working Group of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology charged with reviewing the Federal Networking and Information Technology Research and Development Program. He co-chairs (with Susan Graham) the Computing Community Consortium.

  • Mari Ostendorf
    Professor, Electrical Engineering

    Mari Ostendorf is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Washington, an Endowed Professor of System Design Methodologies in Electrical Engineering and an Adjunct Professor in Computer Science and Engineering and in Linguistics. She is currently also serving as the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies in the College of Engineering.

    After receiving her PhD in electrical engineering from Stanford University in 1985, she worked at BBN Laboratories, then Boston University, and then joined the University of Washington (UW) in 1999. She has also been a visiting researcher at the ATR Interpreting Telecommunications Laboratory and at the University of Karlsruhe.

    Prof. Ostendorf's research interests are in dynamic and linguistically-motivated statistical models for speech and language processing. Her work has resulted in over 200 publications and 2 paper awards. Prof. Ostendorf has served as co-Editor of Computer Speech and Language, as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Audio, Speech and Language Processing, and is currently the VP Publications for the IEEE Signal Processing Society and a member of the ISCA Advisory Council. She is a Fellow of IEEE and ISCA, a recipient of the 2010 IEEE HP Harriett B. Rigas Award, and will be a 2012 Fulbright scholar in Australia.