UW logo
Office of Research (OR)

Honors & Awards

Nobel Laureates: Thomas, Hartwell, Buck

World Leaders

Due to the accomplishments of our top notch faculty, the UW receives more federal research funding than any other American public university.

Pictured here, E. Donnall Thomas (left), Leland Hartwell (center), and Linda Buck (right) were awarded the Nobel Prize in 1990, 2001, and 2004 in Physiology and Medicine, respectively.Not shown here are Hans Dehmelt who received the Nobel Prize in 1989, and the team of Edwin Krebs and Edmond Fischer in 1992.