VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointment

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to re-appoint Norman Pfeiffer to the University of Washington Architectural Commission commencing immediately and ending in October 2012.

BACKGROUND:

The revised (2002) "Statement of Organization and Function" of the University of Washington Architectural Commission provides that the membership of the Commission include eleven members, four of whom are professional members who shall be registered architects, landscape architects, or qualified city planners; and one of whom is a student member jointly recommended by the President of the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS).

Norman Pfeiffer is a native of Washington State, and a founding Partner of Hardy Holzman Pfeiffer Associates (HHPA). In 1986, he established HHPA's Los Angeles office and personally directed the design and construction of a number of significant educational, civic, cultural, and commercial projects, including the design of the *Hult Center for the Performing Arts* in Oregon; the master plan and design of the new *Soka University of America* campus in Southern California; the *DeBartolo Center for the Performing Arts* at the *University of Notre Dame* in Indiana; the complete historic restoration of *Stanford University's Memorial Church* as well as restoration and seismic upgrade work at the University's *Language Corner* and *Encina Hall*; the new *Vilar Center for the Arts* in Beaver Creek, CO; the *Colburn School of Performing Arts* in Los Angeles; a new laboratory at the *Scripps Institute of Oceanography* at the *University of California-San Diego* in La Jolla.

Mr. Pfeiffer himself has completed several of that city's most beloved civic landmarks with his historic restoration and expansion of the *Los Angeles Public Library: Central Library*; expansion of the *Los Angeles County Museum of Art*; restoration of the main lobby of *Los Angeles City Hall*, and the refurbishment and expansion of another historic landmark, *Griffith Observatory*.

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

<u>Architectural Commission Membership Appointment</u> (continued p. 2)

Additionally, Mr. Pfeiffer has directed design of the following projects: *Evo A. DeConcini Federal Building and United States Courthouse* in Tucson, AZ; the master plan for the new *California State University-Channel Islands* campus; *University of Otago Library and Information Services Building*; the *RiverCenter*

for the Performing Arts in Columbus, Georgia; and the master plan and redevelopment of two campuses for Pima County Community College in Arizona.

Mr. Pfeiffer has served on the Architectural Commission since 1989; and during his long tenure has made numerous positive contributions to the quality of the University campus.

The Chair of the Architectural Commission concurs with this recommendation.

The other current members of the Commission are:

Daniel Friedman (Chair) – Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Planning Lee Copeland – Architectural Advisor Stephen Kieran – Kieran Timberlake, Philadelphia, PA (Term expires 10/09) Linda Jewell – Freeman & Jewell, Berkeley, CA (Term expires 10/11) Cathy Simon – SMWM, San Francisco, CA (Term expires 10/10) John Schaufelberger – Faculty Member

ex officio:

V'Ella Warren – Senior Vice President, Finance and Facilities Richard Chapman – Associate Vice President, Capital Projects Office Dale Cole – Chair, University Landscape Advisory Committee