VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointments

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to re-appoint Linda Jewell, to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in October 2011; and to appoint Tristie Tajima to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in June 2008.

BACKGROUND:

The revised (2002) "Statement of Organization and Function" of the University of Washington Architectural Commission provides that the membership of the Commission include eleven members, four of whom are professional members who shall be registered architects, landscape architects, or qualified city planners; and one of whom is a student member jointly recommended by the President of the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS).

Ms. Jewel is a partner in the firm of Freeman & Jewell, located in Berkeley, California, and a consulting partner in the firm of Reynolds & Jewell in Raleigh, North Carolina. In addition to these practices, Ms. Jewell is a professor of Landscape Architecture at the University of California, Berkeley, and former professor at Harvard, North Carolina State University and the University of Pennsylvania. Ms. Jewell received her Bachelor of Architecture (with honors) from the North Carolina State University School of Design. She received her Master of Landscape Architecture degree (Summa cum Laude) from the University of Pennsylvania in 1975.

Ms. Jewell has served on the Architectural Commission since March 2000; and has made numerous positive contributions to the quality of the University campus.

ASUW and GPSS have recommended that Tristie Tajima, undergraduate student seeking dual Bachelors degrees in Architectural Studies and Construction Management, be appointed as student member for the 2007-2008 year. Ms. Tajima is a third year college student who wishes to gain knowledge and experience in the fields of architecture and construction. She has been on the annual Dean's list for two years; and received first place in a public speaking competition in 2006.

VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointments (continued p. 2)

The Chair of the Architectural Commission concurs with these recommendations. The other current members of the Commission are:

Daniel Friedman (Chair) – Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Planning Lee Copeland – Architectural Advisor Stephen Kieran – Kieran Timberlake, Philadelphia PA (Term expires 10/09) Norman Pfeiffer – Pfeiffer Partners, Los Angeles CA (Term expires 10/08) Cathy Simon – SMWM, San Francisco CA (Term expires 10/10) John Schaufelberger – Faculty Member

ex officio:

Weldon E. Ihrig – Executive Vice President Richard Chapman – AVP, Capital Projects Office Dale Cole – Chair, Campus Landscape Advisory Committee