VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

A. Academic and Student Affairs Committee

University of Washington Medicine Board Appointment and Reappointments

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

It is the recommendation of the University President and the Academic and Student Affairs Committee that the Board of Regents make the following new appointment and reappointments to the UW Medicine Board:

New Appointment

Herman Sarkowsky October 1, 2007 – September 30, 2010

Reappointment

Shan Mullin September 1, 2007 – August 31, 2010 Gerald Grinstein October 1, 2007 – September 30, 2010

BACKGROUND

Article 1, Section 1 of the UW Medicine Board Bylaws states, "The UW Medicine Board (the "Board") shall consist of sixteen (16) members, including the President of the University and the CEO/EVPMA/Dean, who shall serve as *ex officio* members of the Board with full voice and vote. The Board members shall be appointed by the Board of Regents. The Chair of the Board of Regents shall appoint the Chairperson of the UW Medicine Board. At least one Board member shall be a member of the Board of Regents. One Board member shall be a member of the faculty of the University nominated by the President of the University. The remaining twelve (12) Board members shall be nominated by the President of the University from among people who have broad public perspectives and do not represent any special interest group."

Herman Sarkowsky is recommended to fill the position vacated by Brooks Ragen on June 30, 2007. Mr. Sarkowsky is President of Sarkowsky Investment Corporation. He has been in the home building and construction business since 1950, and is active in a number of real estate partnerships and developments. He was previously a partner in Frederick & Nelson department stores and developer of the 62-story Key Tower in downtown Seattle. He has served on the boards of Children's Hospital Foundation and the Seattle Art Museum and is very active in many University of Washington affairs. It is recommended that Mr. Sarkowsky be appointed to the UW Medicine Board for a three year term ending September 30, 2010.

Gerald Grinstein is CEO of Delta Air Lines, former non-executive chairman of Agilent Technologies and former Chairman and CEO of Burlington Northern, Inc. While Chairman and CEO of Burlington Northern, Inc he oversaw the company's acquisition of Santa Fe Pacific Corporation, which created the nations largest railroad. Mr. Grinstein previously was Chairman and CEO of Western Airlines and Chief Counsel to the United States Senate Commerce Committee and Counsel to the Merchant Marine & Transportation Subcommittee. He is a co-founder of Madrona Investment Group and previously served on the Boards of PACCAR, Inc., and the Brink's Company. It is

recommended that Mr. Grinstein be appointed for a three year term ending September 30, 2010.

J. Shan Mullin is a partner with the law firm of Perkins Coie, LLP and chair of the International Practice Group. His areas of emphasis are general corporate law, international business transactions, joint ventures, technology licensing and franchising, and mergers and acquisitions. He serves on the Board of the Aki Foundation, Alliance for Education, Seattle Chamber of Commerce, and Seattle Cancer Care Alliance. It is recommended that Mr. Mullin be appointed for a three year term ending September 30, 2010.

Under the Bylaws of the UW Medicine Board it states that "the term of office of each appointed Board member shall be three years. No appointed Board member may serve more than three successive three-year terms...".

Attachment: List of members of the UW Medicine Board

UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON MEDICINE BOARD

Present Term of Appointment Changes Recommended

Stanley Barer 1/1/06 - 12/31/08

Mark Emmert Ex-Officio

President

University of Washington

Michael D. Garvey 2/1/07 to 1/31/10

Reappointment

Allan C. Golston 10/1/05 to 9/30/08

Jerry Grinstein 10/1/07 to 9/30/10

Reappointment

Charlotte Guyman 7/1/06 to 6/30/09

Shan Mullin 9/1/07 to 8/31/10

Reappointment

Julie Nordstrom 10/1/05 to 9/30/08

Dennis Okamoto 10/1/06 to 9/30/09

Herman Sarkowsky 10/1/07 to 9/30/10 New

Appointment

Orin Smith 7/1/05 to 6/30/08

Paul G. Ramsey, M.D. Ex-Officio

Vice President for Medical Affairs and

Dean of the School of Medicine

JoAnn Taricani 7/1/05 to 6/30/08