# VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

## Architectural Commission Membership Appointments

### **RECOMMENDED ACTION:**

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to appoint Cathy Simon, FAIA, to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in October 2010; and to appoint Linda Lane to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in June 2007.

## BACKGROUND:

The revised (2002) "Statement of Organization and Function" of the University of Washington Architectural Commission provides that the membership of the Commission include eleven members, four of whom are professional members who shall be registered architects, landscape architects, or qualified city planners; and one of whom is a student member jointly recommended by the President of the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS).

Cathy Simon received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Art History from Wellesley College and her Master of Architecture degree from the Harvard Graduate School of Design. She is the President, Director of Design and a founding partner of SMWM. Under her leadership, the firm has established itself as a nationally recognized practice in architecture, planning and urban design. SMWM has been honored with numerous professional distinctions, and in 1999 was the recipient of the Firm Award given by the AIA California Council.

ASUW and GPSS have recommended that Linda Lane, graduate student in the School of Information Management, be appointed as student member for the 2006-2007 year. Ms. Lane is currently seeking a Master of Science in Information Management from the University of Washington. Ms. Lane received her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Art, Painting and Filmmaking from Cornish. She briefly studied architecture at the University of Alaska. Ms. Lane's parents met and studied architecture at the University of Washington.

The Chair of the Architectural Commission concurs with these recommendations.

The other current members of the Commission are:

Lee Copeland – Architectural Advisor Stephen Kieran – Kieran Timberlake, Philadelphia PA (Term expires 10/09) Daniel Friedman (Chair) – Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Planning Linda Jewell – Freeman & Jewell (Term expires 10/07) Norman Pfeiffer – Pfeiffer Partners, Los Angeles CA (Term expires 10/08) John Schaufelberger – Faculty Member

### ex officio:

Richard Chapman – AVP, Capital Projects Office Dale Cole – Chair, Campus Landscape Advisory Committee Weldon E. Ihrig – Executive Vice President