VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointments

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to re-appoint Norman Pfeiffer to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in October 2008; and to appoint Zachary Price to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in June 2006.

BACKGROUND:

The revised (2002) "Statement of Organization and Function" of the University of Washington Architectural Commission provides that the membership of the Commission include eleven members, four of whom are professional members who shall be registered architects, landscape architects, or qualified city planners; and one of whom is a student member jointly recommended by the President of the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS).

Norman Pfeiffer, FAIA, (Fellow, American Institute of Architects) is a 1964 graduate of the University of Washington College of Architecture and received a Master of Architecture degree from Columbia University in 1965. He has served on the University of Washington Architectural Commission since 1989. Mr. Pfeiffer is a founding partner of the firm of Pfeiffer Partners in Los Angeles.

Pfeiffer Partners has received numerous project awards for excellence in architecture and urban design from both civic and professional organizations. The firm has received a number of exceptional honors including the Brunner Prize in Architecture from the National Institute of Arts and Letters in 1974, and the Medal of Honor from the New York Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) in 1978. The firm received the Architectural Firm Award from the National AIA in 1978.

Professional members shall normally be appointed for four-year terms, however, Mr. Pfeiffer's term is being proposed as a three year term, to keep the appointments in sync with the four year rotating schedule.

ASUW and GPSS have recommended that Zachary Price, Masters of Architecture student, be appointed as student member for the 2005-2006 year.

Mr. Price is seeking a Masters of Architecture degree from the University of Washington in June 2006. He received his Bachelors degree in Architecture from

VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointments (continued p. 2)

Ohio State University in 2003 and is a LEED Accredited Professional. He enjoys sailing, and rock and ice climbing major peaks throughout Northern and Central America. He has worked on both the Gazela, a 180' barkentine on the Delaware River, and the Sta. Maria replica, located in Columbus, Ohio.

The Chair of the Architectural Commission concurs with these recommendations. The other current members of the Commission are:

Lee Copeland -- Architectural Advisor Stephen Kieran – Kieran Timberlake, Philadelphia PA (Term expires 10/09) Robert Mugerauer (Chair) -- Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Planning Patricia Patkau -- Patkau Architects, Vancouver BC (Term expires 9/06) Linda Jewell - Freeman & Jewell (Term expires 10/07) John Schaufelberger -- Faculty Member

ex officio:

Richard Chapman – AVP, Capital Projects Office Dale Cole -- Chair, Campus Landscape Advisory Committee Weldon E. Ihrig -- Executive Vice President

F-4/211 11/18/05