#### VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

### B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

## Architectural Commission Membership Appointment

#### **RECOMMENDED ACTION:**

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to appoint John Syvertsen, FAIA, to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing in June 2010, and ending in October 2011 (completing Norman Pfeiffer's remaining year on a three-year term). John fills the vacancy created by Norman Pfeiffer's recent resignation.

#### BACKGROUND:

The University of Washington Architectural Commission's "Statement of Organization and Function" provides that the membership of the Commission include eleven members, four of whom are professional members who shall be registered architects, landscape architects, or qualified city planners; and one of whom is a student member jointly recommended by the President of the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and Graduate & Professional Student Senate (GPSS).

John Syvertsen earned a BA in Philosophy from Georgetown University and a MArch from Princeton University. He is a past Loeb Fellow in Advanced Environmental Studies, Harvard Graduate School of Design, and is one of our nation's most admired, respected, and experienced practitioners.

As president of OWP/P since 1999, John measurably elevated the firm's commitment to design excellence in every area of its practice. Last September, he directed the merger of OWP/P with Cannon Design, a leading global architecture and engineering firm. The merged company is one of the most formidable design and delivery firms in the world. In the new organization, John will continue as a senior principal with Cannon Design and serve as a member of the firm's executive leadership team and board of directors.

Among his many duties and responsibilities leading an office of more than 250 professionals, John worked especially closely with The University of Chicago since the mid-1990s. During that time, he directed project teams to complete a major Law Clinic and Classroom addition to the existing Law School campus, designed by Eero Saarinen. His experience in working with clients in a higher educational setting extends to nearly all of the colleges and universities in Chicago, as well as to numerous other schools and universities around the nation.

### B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

# Architectural Commission Membership Appointment (continued p. 2)

John is Chairman of the Urban Design Task Force for the Chicago Central Area Action Plan and a former Chairman of the Board of the Chicago Architecture Foundation. He is a senior member of Mayor Daley's Chicago Design Initiative, and serves on the University of Illinois at Chicago Chancellor's Design Review Committee. He is President of the Board of Trustees of the Graham Foundation, a member of the Board of Regents of the American Architectural Foundation, the Board of Overseers of the College of Architecture at Illinois Institute of Technology, the Board of Directors of Archeworks, and the Board of Directors of Family Focus, Illinois. Previously John served as vice-president and president of AIA Chicago, chairman of the AIA National Committee on Design, and president of the Chicago Architectural Club.

The other current members of the Commission are:

Rebecca Barnes – University Architect
Daniel S. Friedman – (Chair) Dean, College of Built Environments
Linda Jewell – Freeman & Jewell (Term expires 10/11)
Stephen Kieran – KieranTimberlake (Term expires 10/13)
Cathy Simon – Perkins+Will (Term expires 10/10)
John Schaufelberger – Faculty Member
Ted Wegrich – Student Member

ex officio members:

V'Ella Warren – Senior Vice President Richard Chapman – Associate Vice President, Capital Projects Office Kristine Kenney – University Landscape Architect Jeff Hou – Chair/University Landscape Advisory Committee

#### REVIEW AND APPROVALS

This recommendation has been reviewed and approved by the Chair of the Architectural Commission.