#### B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

### Architectural Commission Student Membership Appointment

### **RECOMMENDED ACTION:**

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to appoint Amy Monsen to the University of Washington Architectural Commission as the student representative, with a term commencing in September 2010 and ending in June 2011. Amy fills a vacancy created by the departure of Ted Wegrich due to his recent graduation.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

Amy Monsen is a 4th year student in a 5-year dual-degree program leading to a Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies and a Bachelor of Science in Construction Management. She is an excellent student, paying close attention to detail and earning a cumulative GPA of 3.7. Amy participated in an 18-day Exploration Seminar in Costa Rica in the summer of 2008 exploring sustainable development and conservation. She will represent the University of Washington on the design-build student competition team against other university teams from Oregon and California in February 2011.

The other current members of the Commission are:

Daniel S. Friedman – (Chair) Dean, College of Built Environments Linda Jewell – Freeman & Jewell (Term expires 10/11) Stephen Kieran – KieranTimberlake (Term expires 10/13) Cathy Simon – Perkins+Will (Term expires 10/10) John Syvertsen – OWP/P with Cannon Design (Term expires 10/11) John Schaufelberger – Faculty Member

ex officio members:

V'Ella Warren – Senior Vice President
Rebecca Barnes – University Architect
Richard Chapman – Associate Vice President, Capital Projects Office
Charles Kennedy – Associate Vice President, Facilities Services
Kristine Kenney – University Landscape Architect
Kirk Pawlowski – Assistant Vice Provost, Capital Resource Planning

# VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointment (continued p. 2)

# **REVIEW AND APPROVALS**

This recommendation has been reviewed and approved by the Chair of the Architectural Commission.