VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointments

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

It is the recommendation of the administration and the Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee that the President be delegated authority to re-appoint Stephen Kieran to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in October 2013; and to appoint student representative, Ted Wegrich, to the University of Washington Architectural Commission, commencing immediately and ending in June 2010.

BACKGROUND:

The revised (2002) "Statement of Organization and Function" of the University of Washington Architectural Commission provides that the membership of the Commission include eleven members, four of whom are professional members who shall be registered architects, landscape architects, or qualified city planners; and one of whom is a student member jointly recommended by the President of the Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) and Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS).

Stephen Kieran is a partner at KieranTimberlake, an internationally recognized architecture firm noted for its commitment to research, innovation and invention. The firm has received over one hundred design citations including the 2008 Architecture Firm Award, the highest honor bestowed on a firm by the American Institute of Architects.

Mr. Kieran received his B.A. degree from Yale University, and his M.Arch degree from the University of Pennsylvania. He is a recipient of the Rome Prize.

Kieran and his partner James Timberlake were inaugural recipients of the prestigious Benjamin Latrobe Fellowship for architectural design research from the AIA College of Fellows. They have co-authored *Manual, The Architecture of KieranTimberlake, refabricating ARCHITECTURE*, which examines how manufacturing methodologies are poised to transform building construction, and *Loblolly House: Elements of a New Architecture*, a case study of a single building which chronicles a new, more efficient way of constructing offsite through the use of building information modeling and integrated component assemblies.

VII. STANDING COMMITTEES

B. Finance, Audit and Facilities Committee

Architectural Commission Membership Appointments (continued p. 2)

Mr. Kieran leads a design research studio at the University of Pennsylvania's School of Design, and has taught at the University of Washington, Yale University, the University of Michigan, and Princeton University.

Notable projects include Loblolly House in Taylors Island, MD, the Stewart Middle School, Sidwell Friends School in Washington, DC, the Sculpture Building and School of Art Gallery at Yale University, and Cellophane House, an off-site fabricated dwelling commissioned by The Museum of Modern Art.

ASUW and GPSS have recommended that Ted Wegrich be appointed as student member for the 2009-2010 year. Mr. Wegrich obtained his Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies in June 2009, and will complete his Bachelor of Science in Construction Management in June 2010. He also studied abroad at the University of Washington Rome Center, Rome, Italy, Fall 2008-Winter 2009.

The other current members of the Commission are:

Vacant – Architectural Advisor Daniel S. Friedman – (Chair) Dean, College of Architecture and Urban Planning Linda Jewell – Freeman & Jewell (Term expires 10/11) Cathy Simon – Perkins+Will (Term expires 10/10) Norman Pfeiffer – Pfeiffer Partners (Term expires 10/12) John Schaufelberger – Faculty Member

ex officio:

Richard Chapman – Associate Vice President, Capital Projects Office Dale Cole – Chair, Campus Landscape Advisory Committee V'Ella Warren – Senior Vice President

REVIEW AND APPROVALS

This recommendation has been reviewed and approved by the Chair of the Architectural Commission.