Office of the Provost

Deanship of the School of Law

Revised: March 29, 2018

Mario L. Barnes named dean of the School of Law

UW News


Advisory Search Committee on the Deanship of the School of Law

  • Sean Sullivan, professor and dean, School of Pharmacy, chair
  • James Banks, Killinger endowed chair and director, College of Education
  • Angelica Chazaro, assistant professor, School of Law
  • Xiao‐Ping Chen, professor and associate dean, Department of Management and Organization, Foster School of Business
  • William Covington, assistant professor, School of Law
  • Jonathan Franklin, associate dean for Library and Information Systems, School of Law
  • Robert Giles, managing partner emeritus, Perkins Coie LLP
  • Gregory Gorder, co‐chair, School of Law Campaign Committee and founder and vice chairman, Intellectual Ventures
  • Mary Kay Gugerty, professor, Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
  • Michael Hatfield, professor, School of Law
  • Steven Herbert, professor, Department of Law, Societies and Justice, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Terrie Klinger, professor and director, School of Marine and Environmental Affairs, College of the Environment
  • Mathiew Le, assistant dean, Admissions and Financial Aid, School of Law
  • Elliott Okantey, GPSS representative, School of Law
  • Zahr Said, associate professor, School of Law
  • Michele Storms, deputy director, ACLU of Washington
  • Kathryn Watts, Jack R. MacDonald Endowed Chair, School of Law
  • David Ziff, senior lecturer, School of Law

Charge letter

Dear Colleagues:
Thank you for agreeing to serve on the advisory search committee to identify and recommend candidates for the position of dean of the School of Law. Sean Sullivan, professor and dean of the School of Pharmacy, will chair the committee. We are fortunate to have such a superb committee. Our goal is to have a new dean in place by July 1, 2018. Professor Anita Krug has agreed to serve as interim Toni Rembe Dean of Law beginning July 1, 2017, and to serve until a new dean is in place. I am grateful to Anita for stepping into this important role.

We are greatly indebted to dean Kellye Testy for her remarkable vision, leadership and energy as dean over the past 8 years. She has been named the new president and CEO of the Law School Admission Council (LSAC).

Enclosed is a copy of Executive Order 20 from the University of Washington Policy Directory, which sets forth the basic procedures for conducting a search for a dean. The University has a strong commitment to diversity, which I ask you to consider seriously as you build a pool of eligible candidates. Please establish protocols for seeking the opinions from members of the School of Law, broader UW faculty, student and staff communities, as well as other appropriate constituencies within and outside the University of Washington.

At the conclusion of the search, the president and I would like to receive from you the names of at least three highly qualified candidates.

The first meeting of the search committee will be on Monday, July 24, 2017 from 9 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. in Gerberding Hall, room G26. I will attend a portion of that meeting to discuss the search with you. Thank you very much for accepting this important assignment.

Gerald J. Baldasty
Provost and Executive Vice President
Professor, Communication
Adjunct Professor, American Ethnic Studies; Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies

Download charge letter (PDF)