Office of the Provost

UW Tacoma Chancellor

For Immediate Release: Jan. 6, 2015

Mark Pagano selected as chancellor for UW Tacoma

University of Washington President Michael K. Young and Provost Ana Mari Cauce announced today the selection of Mark Pagano, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at Montana State University Billings, as the next chancellor of the University of Washington Tacoma, effective March 16. The appointment is subject to approval by the UW Board of Regents.

“President Young and I are delighted to have Dr. Mark Pagano join the vibrant UW Tacoma community. Chancellor Pagano brings his expertise in leading Montana’s only urban university in Billings, Montana, and we are certain his leadership will continue to make UW Tacoma a nationwide example of a university in daily concert with its community. We welcome Mark and are excited about the future,” Cauce said.

On the eve of UW Tacoma’s 25th anniversary, Pagano plans to forge strong relationships with a broad group of internal and external stakeholders who will work together to craft the campus vision for the next 25 years.

“I hope to craft a process for how we build a shared vision for UW Tacoma, design a workable plan to achieve that vision and secure the resource base to ensure it becomes reality,” Pagano said. “The quality of the leadership at the University of Washington and the firm commitment to supporting UW Tacoma’s efforts to extend the reach and impact of the UW in the south Puget Sound region is exciting.”

Pagano has been at Montana State University Billings since 2011, where he has overseen academic programs at the university’s five colleges and a number of additional programs and centers, including international studies and outreach, graduate studies, extended campus and information technology and e-learning. He has led daily operations of the university and co-chaired the formation and implementation of the school’s strategic plan.

Before joining Montana State University, Pagano served as dean of Purdue University’s extended campus from 2003-2011. In this role, he led all of Purdue’s continuing education and executive programs, conference activities and e-learning. He joined Purdue in 1992 as a faculty member in the mechanical engineering technology department, later chairing the department as a tenured professor and also serving in other university leadership positions before becoming dean of Purdue Extended Campus.

Pagano began his higher education career at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, where he taught from 1983-1992. He received multiple teaching awards at both universities.

Pagano holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree in thermal and environmental engineering and a doctorate in engineering science from Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

He has been involved in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society for Engineering Education and the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology and currently serves on several community boards in Montana. He has published more than 70 journal articles, conference proceedings and professional presentations.

Pagano’s annual salary will be $276,400.

UW Tacoma was established in 1990 to expand access to higher education and promote economic development in the South Puget Sound region. As an urban-serving university, its educational programs and research agenda are determined in collaboration with regional leaders across business, nonprofit and public sectors. The 46-acre campus seeks to be a catalyst for the revival of downtown Tacoma, with today’s enrollment of 4,500 students projected to grow to 7,000 within 10 years.


Advisory Search Committee

An advisory search committee was appointed April 24, 2014, to identify and recommend candidates for the position of University of Washington Tacoma Chancellor.

Kenyon Chan, Chair
Interim Chancellor, UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358430
Phone:  253 692-5646
Fax: 253 692-5643

Jill M. Purdy, Co-chair
Associate Professor
Milgard School of Business, UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358420
Phone:  253 692-5635
Fax:  253 692-4523

Gino Aisenberg, Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Associate Dean for Community Partnerships and Diversity, The Graduate School
UW Mailbox:  354900
Phone:  206 616-9365
Fax:  206 543-1228

Lorre Allen, Director, Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action
Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Personnel
UW Mailbox:  351237
Phone:  206 543-1830

Cherry A. McGee Banks, Professor, Education Program
UW Bothell
UW Mailbox:  358531
Phone:  425 352-5336 | 425 352-5230
Fax:  425 352-5234

Robert Hardie, Fiscal Specialist Supervisor, Finance & Administration
UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358431
Phone:  253 692-4878
Fax:  253 692-5661

Joshua Knudson, Vice Chancellor for Advancement
UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358432
Phone:  253 692-4649
Fax:  253 692-5774

Nita McKinley, Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358436
Phone:  253 692-4543
Fax:  253 692-5718

Ali Modarres, Director& Professor, Urban Studies Program
UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox: 358437
Phone:  253 692-5706
Fax:  253 692-4800

Bruce Nelson, Professor, Earth & Space Sciences
Associate Dean for Research
College of the Environment
UW Mailbox:  351310
Phone:  206 543-4434 | 206 543-1190
Fax:  206 543-0489

Harlan F. Patterson, Vice Chancellor for Finance & Administration,
Administrative Services
UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358431
Phone:  253 692-4789

Robert D. Plotnick, Professor, Evans School of Public Affairs
UW Mailbox:  353055
Phone:  206 685-2055 | 206 930-5111
Fax:  206 543-1096

Jose Rios, Associate Professor, Education Program
UW Tacoma
UW Mailbox:  358435
Phone:  253 692-5695 | 253 692-4430
Fax:  253 692-5612

Nancy K. Rivenburgh, Professor, Department of Communication, College of Arts and Sciences
UW Mailbox:  353740
Phone: 206 543-2660
Fax: 206 616-3762

Elaine P. Scott, Dean, School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, Engineering and Mathematics
UW Bothell
UW Mailbox:  358538
Phone:  425 352-3179

Jennifer Sundheim, Assistant Director, Head of Collections & Access Services
UW Tacoma Library
UW Mailbox:  358460
Phone:  253 692-4860

William T.  Weyerhaeuser
P.O. Box 1278
Tacoma, WA 98401-1278
Phone: 253 272-8336

Nancy F. Woods, Professor and Dean Emerita, Biobehavioral Nursing & Health Systems
School of Nursing
T-602B Health Sciences
UW Mailbox:  357266
Phone: 206 543-8238

David Zeeck, Publisher, The News Tribune
Chair of the Advisory Board, UW Tacoma
Address: P.O. Box 11000, 1950 South State Street, Tacoma, WA 98411
Phone: 253 597-8554

Madisen Liddle, Student Representative, ASUWT

Jocelyn Patterson, President, ASUWT, 2014-15