Office of the Provost

UW Tacoma Chancellor 2011

Interim UW President Phyllis Wise has announced the selection of Debra Friedman as chancellor for the University of Washington Tacoma, effective July 1. The appointment is subject to approval of the UW Board of Regents.


In September 2010, Interim President Phyllis Wise appointed an Advisory Search Committee on the Chancellorship of the University of Washington, Tacoma.  Isaacson, Miller, an executive search firm,  was  engaged to assist with the search.

Advisory Search Committee Charge

Advisory Search Committee

  • Doug Wadden, Executive Vice Provost, Chair
  • Sharon Fought, Director, Nursing Program, UW Tacoma, Co-Chair
  • John Banks, Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences Program, UW Tacoma
  • Robert Crutchfield, Chair, Department of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences, UW Seattle
  • Kathleen Deakins, Chair, 2010-11 UW Tacoma Advisory Board, Vice President, JayRay
  • Melanie Dressel, President and CEO, Columbia Bank
  • Rachel Diane Frank, UWT Undergraduate Student Representative
  • Andrew Fry, Assistant Director for Industry Partnerships, Lecturer, Institute of Technology, UW Tacoma
  • Charles Jackels, Professor, Computing and Software Systems Programs and Science and Technology Program, UW Bothell
  • Josh Knudson, Vice Chancellor for Advancement, UW Tacoma
  • Marcie Lazzari, Professor, Social Work Program, UW Tacoma
  • Rai Nauman Mumtaz, President, ASUWT
  • Jill Purdy, Associate Professor, Milgard School of Business, Academic Director, Center for Leadership and Social Responsibility, UW Tacoma
  • John Sahr, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Academic Affairs and Professor, Electrical Engineering, UW Seattle
  • Carole Svensson, Assistant Director, UW Tacoma Library
  • John Webster, Associate Professor, Department of English, UW Seattle

Contact information