Office of the President

March 26, 2010

Announcing the 2010 UW Awards of Excellence recipients


Dear Members of the University Community:

I am proud to announce the 2010 Awards of Excellence recipients. For 40 years, the University has honored outstanding members of our UW community for their performance in teaching, mentoring, librarianship, public service and staff support. Congratulations to the following individuals who will be honored at a special ceremony on June 10, 2010, in Meany Hall.

Distinguished Teaching Award
Presented to faculty who show a mastery of their subject matter, intellectual rigor and a passion for teaching

  • Scott Freeman, Biology
  • Diane Gillespie, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences (Bothell)
  • Scott Hauck, Electrical Engineering
  • J. Mark Pendras, Urban Studies (Tacoma)
  • Anu Taranath, English and Comparative History of Ideas
  • Cuong Vu, Music
  • Joy Williamson-Lott, Education

Excellence in Teaching Award
Given to graduate teaching assistants who demonstrate outstanding skills in the classroom

  • Monique Lacoste, Communication
  • Elizabeth Wheat, Biology

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Recognizes faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students

  • Victoria Lawson, Geography

Distinguished Staff Award
Given to staff who contribute to the mission of their unit or the University, respond creatively to challenges, maintain the highest standards in their work, establish productive working relationships and promote a respectful and supportive workplace

  • Georgia Barroso, Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Ui-Hak Chong, Custodial Services
  • Dagmar Schmidt, Nursing
  • John Taylor, Art
  • The team of Thomas Campbell, Fred Ellis, George Iliff, Richard McCarthy, Thomas Pieples and Jeffrey Seitz, Friday Harbor Laboratories

Outstanding Public Service Award
Presented to a faculty or staff member to honor extensive local and/or national and international service

  • Terrie Klinger, Marine Affairs

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award
Recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships and community partnership projects

  • Sharon Dobie, Family Medicine

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Presented to faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs sponsored by the UW and aimed at adults for professional development, personal interest or career redirection

  • JoAnne Whitney, Nursing

Distinguished Librarian Award
Recognizes excellence in librarianship, especially as it benefits the academic community through teaching, research, learning and innovative approaches to practice

  • Judith Henchy, Southeast Asia Library

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus
As one of the highest honors that the University can bestow on a graduate, this award is given to an alumnus or alumna for a lifetime record of achievement.

  • Bruce Nordstrom, retired President and Chairman of the Board, Nordstrom, Inc.

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Given to individuals who make outstanding efforts on behalf of the UW Alumni Association

  • Lex and Diane Gamble, Volunteers for the UW Alumni Association

Award Notes: The University Faculty Lecturer and President’s Medalists will be announced later this spring. The James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities and the David B. Thorud Leadership Awards will not be given this year. You can learn more about these outstanding individuals in the June 3rd edition of University Week.

The Awards of Excellence ceremony, formerly known as the Recognition Ceremony, is free and open to the public. It will be held 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, June 10, in Meany Hall. A reception will follow the event.

I hope you will join me in congratulating these exceptional members of our community.

President Emmert's signature
Mark A. Emmert