UW News

June 1, 2012

2012 Awards of Excellence celebration June 7

UW News

The university will honor individuals who have made important contributions to the university community at the 42nd Annual Awards of Excellence ceremony at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, June 7, in Meany Hall.

President Michael K. Young will preside at the ceremony, which will be followed by a reception.

The Awards of Excellence ceremony honors members of the UW community who exemplify the universitys values with special distinction. They recognize achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

Here are the 2012 UW Awards of Excellence recipients:

Distinguished Staff Award

Billy H. Colburn, psychiatry, Harborview Medical Center
Deborah Harper, Center for Studies in Demography and Ecology
Freddie A. Tapuro, Campus Engineering and Operations
Julie Jothen Valley, radiation oncology
Holly Broadbent-Horvat, Karin Huster, Patricia A. McElveny, Jodie Prescott and JoAnn Rodger, Trauma Surgical ICU Quiet Time Group

David B. Thorud Leadership Award

Faculty award, Alex Cahana, anesthesiology & pain medicine
Staff award, Joyce Yen, engineering

Distinguished Librarian Award

Timothy D. Jewell, information resources and scholarly communication, libraries

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award

Frazer Cook, 65

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award

Nancy Amidei, social work

Distinguished Teaching Award

Leslie Ashbaugh, interdisciplinary arts and sciences, UW Bothell
Jeffrey W. Berman, civil and environmental engineering
Sarah Elwood, geography
Hugh M. Foy, surgery
Maria Elena Garcia, Comparative History of Ideas and Jackson School of International Studies
Andrew D. Loveless, mathematics
Christine A. Stevens, nursing, UW Tacoma

Excellence in Teaching Award

Michael Bowman, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
J. Bart Klika, social work

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award

Mamidala Ramulu, mechanical engineering

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award

Gillian Harkins, English

University Faculty Lecture Award

Batya Friedman, Information School

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award

Peter J. May, political science

Outstanding Public Service Award

Jacqueline McMurtrie, School of Law

Presidents Medal

Melissa Rose Winstanley
Nicole Guenther

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus

Steven M. Holl, 71