UW News

March 30, 2011

Henry Art Gallery announces finalists for annual award, The Brink

The Henry Art Gallery has announced its short list of candidates for The Brink, an award for emerging artists in Washington, Oregon, and British Columbia. The winner will be announced at 7 p.m. Friday, April 22.

The Brink is awarded each year to an artist who appears to be at “the brink” of a promising career. The selection committee considers artists whose work explores a range of ideas beyond the surface of mainstream culture and demonstrates innovation and high artistic quality.

The award comes with a cash prize of $12,500. The recipient will also be given a solo exhibition at the Henry, and a work of his or her art will be acquired for the museums permanent collection.

Eligible artists will have earned within the last five years an MFA or equivalent academic degree, or can provide other evidence that demonstrates the beginning of a professional artistic career. The award is now in its second biennial cycle, following 2009s winner, Isabelle Pauwels of Vancouver, BC.

The 2011 finalists are Grant Barnhart, Debra Baxter and Dawn Cerny of Seattle; Andrew Dadson and Allison Hrabluik of Vancouver, B.C.; Tannaz Farsi of Eugene, Ore.; and artist team Anna Gray and Ryan Wilson Paulsen of Portland, Ore.

The Henry offers the award in partnership with its longtime benefactors and Seattle art supporters John and Shari Behnke. For this years award, 62 nominations were received from art professionals across the Pacific Northwest.

The 2011 selection committee is Henry director Sylvia Wolf and curators Elizabeth Brown and Sara Krajewski; Seattle artist Victoria Haven; Vancouver artist Ken Lum; Stephanie Snyder, Reed Colleges Cooley Art Gallery curator and director, and the Behnkes.

For more information about the Henry Art Gallery and its programs, visit online or call 206-543-2280.