UW News

May 27, 2010

Board of Regents names presidential search committee members

The UW Board of Regents today approved a 17-member Presidential Search and Advisory Committee to find a successor for President Mark Emmert.

The committee has been asked to submit a list to the Regents of “all candidates who meet the minimum qualifications with the Committee’s unranked recommendation of three to five candidates for final interviews.”

The committee also will provide a summary for each candidate “stating why he or she is suited to be president of the University of Washington.”

The members of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee are as follows:

* Chair: Kellye Testy, Dean and James W. Mifflin University Professor, UW School of Law.

* Kristianne (Kristi) Blake, UW Regent and corporate director.

* Ana Mari Cauce, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

* Kenyon Chan, chancellor of UW Bothell.

* Neal Dempsey, founding partner, Bay Partners.

* Carver Gayton, retired executive director, Northwest African American Museum.

* Joanne Harrell, UW Regent and senior director, e-Government Programs, Microsoft-US.

* JW Harrington, professor, Department of Geography and vice chair, UW Faculty Senate.

* Sally Jewell, UW Regent and CEO, Recreational Equipment, Incorporated.

* Lincoln Johnson, associate vice president, Campus Life.

* John Kincaid, president, Schaake Holdings, LLC.

* Madeleine McKenna, president, Associated Students of the University of Washington.

* William (Bill) Phillip, Tacoma business leader and philanthropist.

* Sarah Reyneveld, president, Graduate and Professional Student Senate.

* Johnese Spisso, vice president for Medical Affairs, UW & COO, UW Medicine, UW Medicine-Harborview, UW Medical Center, UWPN, UWP, ALNW.

* Patrick S. Stayton, professor of bioengineering.

* John A. Taylor, instructional technician, School of Art.