UW Today

This is an archived article.

August 10, 2009

‘Puter Profs: Experts who can address a variety of computer-related issues

News and Information

Ed Lazowska
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-543-4755
E-mail: lazowska@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://lazowska.cs.washington.edu/
Areas: Cloud computing, Federal science policy, Data-intensive science, Technology for the developing world, Academic-industry partnerships, Engineering education, Future directions in computer science

Tadayoshi Kohno
Assistant professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-685-4853
E-mail: yoshi@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://www.cs.washington.edu/homes/yoshi/
Areas: Computer security, electronic privacy

Oren Etzioni
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-685-3035
E-mail: etzioni@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://www.cs.washington.edu/homes/etzioni/
Areas: Web search, data mining, artificial intelligence

Daniel Weld
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-543-9196
E-mail: weld@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://www.cs.washington.edu/homes/weld/
Areas: Web search, Internet services, intelligent interfaces, artificial intelligence

Henry (Hank) Levy
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-543-9204
E-mail: levy@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://www.cs.washington.edu/homes/levy/
Areas: Cloud computing, security, spyware

Tom Anderson
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-543-9348
E-mail: tom@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://www.cs.washington.edu/homes/tom/
Areas: Networks, file-sharing, peer-to-peer systems

Richard Ladner
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering
Phone: 206-543-9347
E-mail: ladner@cs.washington.edu
Web site: http://www.cs.washington.edu/homes/ladner/
Areas: Accessible technology, technology for deaf and blind communities


David Dittrich
Senior security engineer, affiliate researcher, Information School
Phone: 206-616-2841
E-mail: dittrich@u.washington.edu
Web site: http://staff.washington.edu/dittrich/
Areas: identity theft, computer viruses, legal aspects of entrapment

Kirk Bailey
Chief information security officer, UW Technology
Phone: 206-685-5475
E-mail: kirkb01@u.washington.edu
Areas: cybersecurity, hacking, legal issues in cyberspace, privacy


Bill Covington
Assistant professor, UW School of Law; Director, Technology Law & Public Policy Clinic
Phone: 206-616-4481
E-mail: covinw@u.washington.edu
Web site: www.law.washington.edu/Faculty/Covington/
Areas: spyware, computer forensics, public-policy issues affecting high-tech and telecommunications industries

Robert Gomulkiewicz
Professor, UW School of Law; Director, Graduate Program in Intellectual Property Law & Policy
Phone: 206-616-4849
E-mail: bobgom@uw.edu
Web site: http://www.law.washington.edu/Directory/Profile.aspx?ID=74
Areas: software protection, Apple v. Microsoft, Uniform Computer Information Transactions Act (UCITA)


Anita Ramasastry
Professor, UW School of Law; Director, Shidler Center for Law, Commerce & Society
Phone: 206-616-8441
E-mail: arama@uw.edu
Web site: http://www.law.washington.edu/Directory/Profile.aspx?ID=102
Areas: e-Commerce, banking and payments law, technology and civil rights


Jacob Wobbrock
Assistant Professor, Information School and College of Engineering
Phone: 206-616-2541
E-mail: wobbrock@uw.edu
Website:http://ischool.uw.edu/directory/faculty/detail.aspx?id=6923
Areas: assistive technology, human-computer interaction


 Andrew Ko
Assistant Professor, Information School and College of Engineering
Phone: 206-221-0302
E-mail: ajko@uw.edu
Website
: http://ischool.uw.edu/directory/faculty/detail.aspx?id=7705
Areas
: Human-computer interaction, software engineering


Julie Kientz
Assistant Professor, Information School and College of Engineering
Phone: 206-221-0614
E-mail: jkientz@uw.edu
Website
: http://ischool.uw.edu/directory/faculty/detail.aspx?id=7706
Areas
: human-computer interaction, biomedical and health informatics


Batya Friedman
Professor, Information School and College of Engineering
Phone: 206-616-7210
E-mail: batya@uw.edu
Website: http://ischool.uw.edu/directory/faculty/detail.aspx?id=3135
Areas: value-sensitive design, multi-lifespan information systems