UW News

October 19, 2006

Nominations sought for Faculty Senate vice chair

Nominations for vice chair of the Faculty Senate are being sought. The successful candidate will serve as vice chair during the 2007-2008 academic year, as chair of the Faculty Senate during the 2008-2009 academic year, and as chair of the Senate Committee on Planning and Budgeting during the 2009-2010 academic year. This position requires a two-year, half-time commitment and a one-year committee chair commitment.

To facilitate the performance of these duties, the Office of the Provost provides the elected representative with one and one-half months summer salary and negotiated release time from other departmental duties during the academic year. Other arrangements are possible for those on 12-month appointments.

The ideal candidate would be an accomplished senior faculty member who has served in leadership roles within the University and who has the breadth of understanding to speak for the faculty across this large, complex university.

If you are interested or know someone who would be well qualified for the position, please contact the chair or a member of the Nominating Committee. Nominations must be received by 5 p.m., Friday, Nov. 10, c/o Nancy Bradshaw, Faculty Senate Office, Box 351271, 206-685-2703, senate@u.washington.edu. The Nominating Committee expects to recommend candidates to the Senate Executive Committee at its Jan. 8 meeting.

Vice Chair Nominating Committee:

Mary Coney, Committee Chair, Technical Communication, mconey@uwtc.washington.edu  

Stephen Hauschka, Biochemistry, haus@u.washington.edu  

Annie Lam, Pharmacy, aylam@u.washington.edu  

Doug Wadden, Visual Communication Design, djwad@u.washington.edu