UW News

November 18, 2004

Award nominations sought

Nominations are now being solicited for the University’s annual awards — awards that honor outstanding teachers, staff, mentors and those engaged in public service. In some cases, teams or departments may be nominated as well as individuals. Awards are administered by a variety of groups on campus. Below is a brief description of each award and instructions on how to submit a nomination.

The Distinguished Teaching Award, given once during the winners’ lifetime, honors several professors based on a number of criteria, including but not limited to the ability to engage students both within and outside the classroom; innovative course and curriculum design; ability to rouse independent and original thinking in students and mastery of the subject matter. Recipients will receive a $5,000 award. In addition, the Excellence in Teaching Award is given to two graduate teaching assistants for their demonstration of extraordinary ability in the teaching/learning process as a graduate TA. Recipients will receive a $2,500 award.

The S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award, thanks to a generous gift from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation, is given annually to a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including public service internships and community partnership projects. The faculty member recognized, in addition to the $5,000 award, will be funded a graduate student to work with during his or her award year by the Office of Undergraduate Education.

The James D. Clowes Teaching Award for Advancing Learning Communities honors a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning at the UW by creating or sustaining learning communities among students. Faculty and staff of the UW are eligible to receive a Clowes Award. The president will recognize the faculty or staff member with an award of $3,000. In addition, the Office of Undergraduate Education will award $2,000 to the recipient’s program or department to support student participation in learning communities.

The Brotman Award for Instructional Excellence, established by the President’s Office in 1998 thanks to a generous gift from Jeffrey and Susan Brotman, is given to academic units or groups of people who have achieved excellence in teaching and fostered excellent learning throughout a program of study. Programs, departments or groups of faculty and/or staff within the University are eligible to receive an award. Individual Brotman Awards range from $10,000 to $35,000, depending upon the number of awards given in a year. Recipients may use the award money in any way that improves undergraduate education consistent with the mission and spirit of the award.

To nominate a faculty member, graduate teaching assistant and/or department for any of the awards above, please submit a letter no more than one-two pages long specifying examples of the nominee’s attributes. The letter should be submitted to: 2005 Teaching Awards Selection Committee, Office of Undergraduate Education, 220 Mary Gates Hall, Box 352800. Please specify the name of the award on the submission letter along with your name, address (postal or campus) and/or e-mail address. The deadline for all nominations is Friday, Dec. 10. Nominations are also accepted via the Web at: http://www.washington.edu/oue/academy/awards.html.

Nominations for the Distinguished Teaching Award at UW Bothell should be sent to Connie Johnston, assistant to the vice chancellor for Academic Affairs, Box 358522. The UWB deadline is Jan. 21, 2005. Nominations for the Distinguished Teaching Award at UW Tacoma should be addressed to the UWT Distinguished Teaching Award Committee and should be received in the Office of the Chancellor (GWP 312) by Jan. 14, 2005. See http://www.tacoma.washington.edu/chancellor/dta.html.

The Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award — sponsored by the Graduate School — recognizes a faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students. The criteria include providing intellectual leadership; actively involving students in research, conferences and publications; helping students to overcome problems and alerting students to career opportunities. The awardee receives $5,000. Nominations for this award should be submitted via hard copy to: Distinguished Graduate mentor Award, The Graduate School, Box 353770; or via e-mail to dgma@grad.washington.edu. The deadline is Jan. 7, 2005.

The Distinguished Staff Award is given to five outstanding staff members who are employed at least half time. The award honors superior service, excellent performance, a positive attitude and innovation or creativity. Teams — including project teams and permanent teams — may also be honored. Each winner or team receives $5,000. The nomination process will open at 8 a.m. on Monday, Jan. 3, 2005 and close at 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 4.

To nominate an individual or team, fill out a nomination form available on the DSA Web site, http://www.washington.edu/president/evp/dsa/, write a nomination letter of no more than two pages and solicit three letters of support from the nominee’s boss, co-workers or other UW-affiliated people acquainted with his or her work. Nominations may be submitted online or sent to Distinguished Staff Awards Committee, Box 351235. They may also be hand delivered to 306 Gerberding.

The Outstanding Public Service Award is given to honor the recipient’s contribution to improving the quality of life locally, nationally or internationally through public service. Both faculty and staff are eligible to be nominated, and the winner receives $5,000. To nominate someone, write a letter of up to two pages describing the nature, extent and impact of the service; the period in which the activity occurred and a description of the effort involved. The letter should also specify whether the nominee received compensation for the activity. Nominations may be accompanied by a maximum of three one-page letters of support. Send nominations to the Outstanding Public Service Award Committee, Office of the President, Box 351230. The deadline is Jan. 14, 2005.

The Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award honors faculty who have taught or designed courses, seminars or workshops aimed at working adults and other nontraditional students, and who have received excellent teaching evaluations for that work. Nominees must have been engaged in lifelong learning activities for at least two years.

To nominate someone for this award, write a supporting letter indicating the range and scope of the candidate’s contributions to lifelong learning and include supporting evidence for the nomination. Nominations should be sent to Dave Szatmary, vice provost, Educational Outreach, Box 354978. The deadline is Feb. 7, 2005.