UW News

October 28, 2004

President appoints members to provost search committee

President Mark Emmert has appointed the members of the Search Advisory Committee to find a new provost. The provost is the University’s chief academic and budget officer.

The committee will be chaired by Thomas Daniel, chair of the Department of Biology.

In his letter to the committee, Emmert asked to be presented with the names of “at least three qualified candidates at the earliest opportunity consistent with a national search.” He also charged the committee with seeking the opinions of the broader UW community and appropriate constituencies outside of the University.

Other members of the committee are: Gerald Baldasty, chair of the Department of Communication; Monica Banks, assistant to the dean of undergraduate education; Nancy V. “Rusty” Barceló, vice president and vice provost of minority affairs; Albert Berger, vice dean for research in the School of Medicine; Ana Mari Cauce, chair of the Department of Psychology; John Coulter, associate vice president and executive director of Health Sciences Administration; Adam Grupp, president of the Graduate and Professional Student Senate; Michael Halleran, divisional dean for arts and humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences; G. Ross Heath, chair of the Faculty Senate; Kelsey Knowles, president of the Associated Students of the University of Washington; Deirdre Meldrum, professor of electrical engineering; Paul Miller, professor of law; David Notkin, chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering; Patricia Wasley, dean of the College of Education; Robert Waterston, professor of genome sciences; Carolyn West, professor of interdisciplinary arts and sciences at UW Tacoma; Lizabeth Wilson, director of University Libraries; Shawn Wong, professor of English; and Nancy Woods, dean of the School of Nursing.

Acting Provost David Thorud, who has served ever since former provost Lee Huntsman became interim president of the University, will continue in the post until a new provost is named.