UW News

January 10, 2002

Service award recipients announced

The UW Academic Medical Center has established a program to recognize faculty and staff members who exemplify service excellence. The quarterly recognition is part of a comprehensive effort, funded by a private gift of $2 million, to enhance the institution’s service culture. The initiative is called “Show U Care.”

The first honorees at UW Medical Center and Harborview Medical Center, and the first and second group of honorees at UW Physicians Neighborhood Clinics, have been announced.

HMC Cares Award recipients are:

  • Azeb Alemyahu, hospital assistant, HMC Unit 4EH
  • Dr. Peter Essleman, chief of rehabilitation medicine
  • Dr. Pat Fleet, associate professor of medicine on theNephrology Service
  • Elizabeth Visco, certified nurse anesthetist

UWMC Service Excellence Award recipients are:

  • Cindy Bennett, registered nurse, Maternity and Infant Center
  • Dr. Diane Doerner, attending physician, Medical Consult Service
  • Dr. Irl Hirsch, medical director, Diabetes Center
  • Wendy Lau, administrative assistant, Patient Financial Services

UW Physicians Network “Going the Extra Mile” recipients are:

  • Bentil Firchau, medical assistant, Woodinville Clinic
  • San Juana, patient services representative, Auburn Clinic
  • Dr. Judy Kuo, pediatrician, Auburn Clinic
  • Shelly Oosterman, supervisor, Virtual Front Desk (central call center)
  • 4545 Move Team: Michael Brogan, Scott Harrison, Bob Stillmaker, Jane Tunnicliff
  • Cora Curre, medical lab technician, Issaquah
  • Jean Rizzuto, administrative coordinator, Fairview (main office)
  • Grace Rosenthal, telephone service representative, Virtual Front Desk
  • Dr. Sarah Simpson, clinic chief physician, Kent/Des Moines Clinic
  • Annual Event Team: Cynthia Ferrucci, Sarah Simpson, Nisha Gupta, Jodi Hayter, Linda Wegsteen, Mary Atkinson, Teresa Gamble, Alyson Greiwe, Katina Holte, Andrea Stevens