Orientation

Welcome to Wenatchee. Your Pediatric clerkship offers the opportunity to learn with a faculty dedicated to your success in developing an understanding of the pediatric patient from birth through adolescence. We practice Pediatrics in a rural setting near some of the most beautiful places in Washington State.

The Pediatric Faculty

Philip Milnes, MD
Course Director
pmilnes@wvmedical.com
Brenda Baumeister, MD bbaumeister@wvmedical.com
Teo Bitiu, MD tbitiu@wvmedical.com
Douglas Eisert, MD deisert@wvmedical.com
Peter Holden, MD pholden@wvmedical.com
Jim Jantzen, MD jjantzen@wvmedical.com

The faculty are on staff at the Wenatchee Valley Medical Center and at Central Washington Hospital. Patient care and clinical teaching will be conducted at both sites.

The Curriculum

The Pediatric educational goals are robust and include:

Daily clinical practice and preceptorship with a broad range of Pediatric patients;

Learning how to produce a good quality dictated clinic note documenting the patient encounter;

Training in and performing the Pediatric specific physical examinations;

Completion of 22 computerized clinical scenarios, the CLIPP cases;

Three detailed patient write ups, using the Pediatric history and physical database;

A written evaluation of bioethical issues involved in a Pediatric specific case;

An oral or written presentation of a Pediatric case with review of the pertinent medical science and clinical issues involved;

A final examination of 90 multiple choice questions drawn from the CLIPP cases and from the course textbook, "Blueprints in Pediatrics, 5th Edition."

Moving through the curriculum will require diligence and good time management, as your six week rotation will go by quickly. Bring your stethoscope. We will provide the other diagnostic equipment and a laptop with access to the medical databases at WVMC and CWH.

Before Arrival

Please review the website developed for the clerkships at Wenatchee Valley Medical Center:
http://wvmedical.com/wwami/index.htm

Here you will find details about your living accommodations, practice locations and some general information about Wenatchee. Many of the physicians here like the outdoors and every season offers something new. We invite you to look through this before your time with us.

In the week before arrival, please contact the course director, Dr. Philip Milnes, pmilnes@wvmedical.com or 509.663.8711 for any specifics. We are looking forward to your participation.