Career Advising

Our career advisors are happy to provide individualized help with your decision making. These advisors are excellent resources and are happy to meet with you at various points throughout the long application process. In looking at the timeline, you can see that there are several important decision points at which time it is very helpful to get feedback from someone with experience with this process. With your initiative, your advisor will become acquainted with you and your record, and will be able to provide you with individual feedback to help you with these important decisions.

The current Department of Pediatrics faculty members who serve as advisors for aspiring pediatricians:

Career Advising Coordinator:

Dr. Sherilyn Smith - Email: : sherilyn.smith@seattlechildrens.org

Pediatrics:

Dr. Curt Bennett - Email: fbennett@uw.edu
Dr. Jordan Symons - Email: jordan.symons@seattlechildrens.org
Dr. Glen Tamura - Email: glen.tamura@seattlechildrens.org
Dr. Michelle Terry - Email: michelle.terry@seattlechildrens.org
Dr. Kyle Yasuda - Email: kyasuda@uw.edu

Med/Peds:

Dr. Judd Walson - Email: walson@uw.edu
Dr. Srinath Sanda - Email: srinath.sanda@seattlechildrens.org

Questions to Ask your Career Advisor

We have created a series of questions to help you make the most of your career advisor’s time (and your time too!). These questions provide structure to help you get the information you need and the help that is most appropriate for your situation.

Before you meet with your career advisor, have a good idea about the following things:
Review your academic record carefully—note any fails, problems passing/taking boards, problems in clerkships. Know how many honors you got in the first two year and the distribution of grades in clerkships.

Be ready to talk about what part of the country you want to live in for the next few years (this shapes where most people apply to).

Be ready to ask specific questions about programs you already are interested in.

Questions to ask:

  1. How competitive is my record?
  2. How many programs should I apply to in order to get 12 interviews?
  3. Can you suggest other programs for me to apply to?
  4. Have I left enough time in my schedule for interviewing?
  5. Will you be able to look at my personal statement?
  6. Can you think of other people that I should talk to?

In addition, make sure you clarify any part of the application process (letters of recommendation, personal statement, ERAS—you will have a session about this from Academic Affairs).

Make sure you are completely transparent about your academic record (any fails, problems with boards, expansions etc) and specific issues that will help shape where you apply (e.g. family/partner in one city, specific interests etc).

Plan a follow up with your advisor (by email/phone or in person). We are happy to answer additional questions, look at programs you are thinking about and read your personal statement.

It is OK to talk to more than one person! You should talk to faculty and residents as you do your rotations, other career advisors who you know…all the information should be reinforcing and the more information you have the better off you will be!

Our job is to help you get a residency program you are happy with!