Skip to main content
Recreation

Our Staff

Executive Team

Matt Newman, Director

MattN

Matt Newman
Director

206.543.7082
mattn@uw.edu

Hometown: Central City, NE
Education: University of Arizona
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Groundskeeper

Katie Beth, Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4936

Katie Beth
Associate Director for Facilities & Operations

206.543.7089
kbeth6@uw.edu

Hometown: Chicago, IL
Education: University of Tampa
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Volleyball Player

Marilyn Carruth, Administrator

171003-UWREC-JWH-Instructor-Headshots-079

Marilyn Carruth
Administrator

206.543.3673
carruthm@uw.edu

Hometown: Olympia, WA
Education: Western Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Baseball Scout

Chris Delaune, Interim Associate Director for Programs

171107-UWRecreation-Staff-Headshots-4882

Chris Delaune
Interim Associate Director for Programs

206.543.9499
delaune@uw.edu

Hometown: New Orleans, LA
Education: Tulane University; University of Denver
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Crabber

Matt Jensen, Associate Director for UWild Adventures

Male-Placeholder

Matt Jensen
Associate Director for UWild Adventures

206.616.2083
mcjensen@uw.edu

Hometown: Norfolk, NE
Education: University of Nebraska, Omaha
If I went “pro,” I would be a: #Vanlife

Gary Leonard, Senior Associate Director

171107-UWRecreation-Staff-Headshots-4886

Gary Leonard
Senior Associate Director

206.685.1144
gleonard@uw.edu

Hometown: Trenton, NJ
Education: Lower Columbia College; Linfield College; University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Golfer

Adam Serafin, Associate Director for Communications & Development

171107-UWRecreation-Staff-Headshots-4904

Adam Serafin
Associate Director for Communications & Development

206.616.4890
aserafin@uw.edu

Hometown: San Diego, CA
Education: Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo; Seattle University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Tour Guide


Administration

Janae Norman, Program Coordinator

Janae

Janae Norman
Program Coordinator

206.616.4371
normanje@uw.edu

Hometown: Bellingham, WA
Education: Whatcom Community College; Western Washington University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Event Planner and/or Dog Cuddler

Janell Norman, Fiscal Specialist

Janell Norman
Fiscal Specialist

206.616.1142
anorman7@uw.edu

Hometown: Bellingham, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Emergency Management

Tom Wang, Fiscal Specialist

Tom Wang
Fiscal Specialist

206.543.4591
tomwang@uw.edu

Hometown: Kirkland, WA
Education: St. Mary’s University of Minnesota
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Car Mechanic


Programs

Danny Arguetty, Mindfulness Manager

171001-UWREC-JWH-Instructor-Headshots-026

Danny Arguetty
Mindfulness Manager

206.685.7730
dannyarg@uw.edu

Hometown: Tel-Aviv
Education: MA in Education
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Healthy Dessert Baker

Luis Bowden, Intramural Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4946

Luis Bowden
Intramural Manager

206.543.9346
lbowden@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Photo Journalist

 

Jessica Norman, Fitness Manager

JessN

Jessica Norman
Fitness Manager

206.543.1717
jlnorman@uw.edu

Hometown: Sewickley, PA
Education: Pennsylvania State University; Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Gastronaut

Josh Yeager, Aquatics & Safety Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4921

Josh Yeager
Aquatics & Safety Manager

206.685.7401
jy78@uw.edu

Hometown: St. Thomas, PA
Education: Bridgewater College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Chef


Facilities & Operations

Niles Appleby, Golf Range Manager

Niles Appleby
Golf Range Manager

206.543.8759
nappleby@uw.edu

Hometown: Redmond, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Golfer

Gary Bartolini, Custodian

Male-Placeholder

Gary Bartolini
Custodian

bartog@uw.edu

 

 

 

James Bartolini, Custodian

James Bartolini
Custodian

bartoj@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: Lincoln High School

Bart Brandvig, Maintenance Mechanic

Bart Brandvig
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6886
branbar@uw.edu

John Caro, Custodian

John Caro
Custodian

206.396.2092
caro@uw.edu

Stacy Gillard, Custodian Lead

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4919

Stacy Gillard
Custodian Lead

stacyeg@uw.edu

 

 

 

Julie Gillespie, Member Services Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4931

Julie Gillespie
Member Services Manager

206.616.7345
julies14@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
Education: Gonzaga University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Soccer Player

Mulu Kidane, Custodian

female-placeholder

Mulu Kidane
Custodian

muluk@uw.edu

 

 

 

Leonor Manaois, Locker Room Manager

Leonor-Manaois_031116_01-FINAL

Leonor Manaois
Women’s Locker Room Manager

206.543.7234
rainbow@uw.edu

Hometown: Legaspi City, Philippines
Education: Business Administration
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Nurse and/or Nutritionist

Pilo Manaois, Maintenance Mechanic

Pilo Manaois
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.6889
pilo@uw.edu

Hometown: Mountlake Terrace, WA
Education: Feati University, Manila – Philippines
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Medical Tech

Cindee McBride, Member Services Program Assistant

Cindee McBride
Member Services Program Assistant

206.543.4590
abbie@uw.edu

Hometown: Rainier, OR
Education: TBD
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Inventor

Jim Paschall, Maintenance Mechanic

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4951

Jim Paschall
Maintenance Mechanic

206.396.5129
jamesp25@uw.edu

Hometown: Spokane, WA
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Electrician

 

Carlos Rodriguez, Maintenance Mechanic

Carlos Rodriguez
Maintenance Mechanic

206.255.5524
cr34@uw.edu

Joe Sanchez, Maintenance Custodian

Joe Sanchez
Maintenance Custodian

206.396.5180
js59@uw.edu

Tom Shih, Custodian

Tom Shih
Custodian

tshih3@uw.edu

Hometown: Taipei, Taiwan

Nick Smith, Locker Room Attendant

Nick Smith
Men’s Locker Room Attendant

206.543.2332
nicks@uw.edu

Leny Taylor, Locker Room Attendant

Lenny

Leny Taylor
Women’s Locker Room Attendant

206.543.7234
lenyt@uw.edu

Hometown: Polangui, Albay – Philippines
Education: University of the East Manila Philippines
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Pharmacist

Tim Taylor, Facilities Manager

Tim Taylor
Facilities Manager

206.255.6883
taylort@uw.edu

Rezene Tesfamariam, Custodian Lead

Male-Placeholder

Rezene Tesfamariam
Custodian Lead

rsbyuc@uw.edu

 

 

 

John Van Clark, Maintenance Custodian

Male-Placeholder

John Van Clark
Maintenance Custodian

206.543.9433
jvc22@uw.edu

 

 

 

Jorge Vasquez, Custodian

Jorge Vasquez
Custodian

jorgev@uw.edu

Hometown: Philippines
Education: 2nd Year College (M.E.)

Chris Wenzel, Locker Room Attendant

Male-Placeholder

Chris Wenzel
Men’s Locker Room Attendant

206.543.2332
wenzec@uw.edu

Hometown: Marysville, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Tree Prunner

Carrie Wigton, Recreation Coordinator

Carrie Wigton
Recreation Coordinator

206.616.2072
cwigton@uw.edu

Hometown: Claremont, CA
Education: University of Puget Sound
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Football Player

Chad Yarbrough, Member Services Coordinator

Chad

Chad Yarbrough
Member Services Coordinator

206.616.3251
cyarb@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: TBD


UWild Adventures

Janelle Deane, Watersports & Trails Manager

female-placeholder

Janelle Deane
Watersports & Trails Manager

206.685.0869
deanej@uw.edu

Hometown: Seattle, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Claymation Movie Maker

Garrett Genereux, Climbing & Wilderness Medicine Manager

171109-UW-Recreation-JWH-Staff-Headshots-4924

Garrett Genereux
Climbing & Wilderness Medicine Manager

206.616.1143
ggenereu@uw.edu

Hometown: Minnetrista, MN
Education: St. John’s University (MN)
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Climber

Rod Smith, Waterfront Manager

Rod Smith
Waterfront Manager

206.685.7518
resmith3@uw.edu

Hometown: Redmond, WA
Education: Gonzaga University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Coach


IT

Adam Coward, IT Administrator

Adam Coward
IT Administrator

206.616.1087
rectech@uw.edu

Hometown: Lakeville, CT
Education: Ithaca College
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Trail Runner


Special Projects

Melanie Barstow, Tour & Event Coordinator

171107-UWRecreation-Staff-Headshots-4898

Melanie Barstow
Tour & Event Coordinator

206.685.8558
mlb28@uw.edu

Hometown: Kirkland, WA
Education: University of Washington
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Country Music Singer

Alison Greenwood, Special Projects Manager

female-placeholder

Alison Greenwood
Special Projects Manager

206.221.5103
agreen2@uw.edu

Hometown: Sacramento, CA
Education: University of California, Santa Barbara; Seattle University
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Cyclist

Nicole Klein, Capital Campaign Manager

female-placeholder

Nicole Klein
Capital Campaign Manager

206.221.8517
kleinn@uw.edu

Hometown: Coos Bay, OR
Education: University of Oregon
If I went “pro,” I would be a: Museum Curator