Freshman Convocation

A University of Washington welcome for freshmen, their friends and families.

Sunday, Sept. 25, 2016

University Community Welcomes the Class of 2020

Surprisingly, no one said they were visionary, far seeing, or possessed of keen insight. Not a single speaker commented on how remarkably focused they were on their educational pursuits. Nevertheless, the members of the class of 2020 clearly enjoyed themselves Sunday, as their collegiate careers got off to a great start at the 33rd Annual Freshman Convocation in the Alaska Airlines Arena at Hec Edmundson Pavilion. 

President Ana Mari Cauce, the regents, deans, faculty, and University leaders were all there to welcome the newest members of the Husky community, as well as their families and friends, to campus. (more)

Stage at Freshman Convocation

Senior Lecturer Holly Barker speaking at Freshman Convocation.

Join the conversation

Just post content to your favorite social networks using hashtag #uwfresh16. Be sure to set your post/profile to public and check the box to send Vine posts to Twitter. Then follow the conversation on our Tagboard page.

Event webcast

Freshman Convocation will be live webcast and rebroadcast by UWTV (Comcast channels 320 in HD and 27) on the following dates:

  • Wed, September 28 at 8:30pm
  • Thu, September 29 at 1:30pm
  • Fri, September 30 at 7:00pm
  • Sat, October 1 at 4:00pm
  • Sun, October 2 at 11:30am
  • Tue, October 4 at 10:00am
  • Thu, October 6 at 1:30pm
  • Fri, October 7 at 11:30am
  • Sat, October 8 at 7:30pm
  • Mon, October 10 at 4:00pm
  • Wed, October 12 at 8:30pm
  • Fri, October 14 at 2:30pm


Phone: 206-543-2592


Why do we have commencement and convocation ceremonies? Learn more about ceremony and tradition at the University of Washington.

Office of Ceremonies


Symbols and meanings

There are four key ritual elements that are seen at University of Washington academic ceremonies. They express our history and traditions.



The Four Columns

The columns that form the backdrop for our stage at convocation and commencement hold special meaning for the University of Washington.



The University Mace

University of Washington ceremonial occasions begin with the entrance of the University Mace, carried by the University Marshal.