41st Annual Awards of Excellence

Honoring the Best of 2011

Each year the University of Washington honors some of its extraordinary community members. Awards are given to honor outstanding teachers, staff, mentors and those engaged in public service. There are also awards for students, alumni and friends of the UW who have distinguished themselves. Here, we introduce you to the people behind the accomplishments.

Distinguished Teaching Award

Presented to faculty who show a mastery of their subject matter, intellectual rigor and a passion for teaching

Excellence in Teaching Award

Given to graduate teaching assistants who demonstrate outstanding skills in the classroom

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award

Recognizes faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education and guidance of graduate students

Distinguished Staff Award

Given to staff who contribute to the mission of their unit or the University, respond creatively to challenges, maintain the highest standards in their work, establish productive working relationships and promote a respectful and supportive workplace

Outstanding Public Service Award

Presented to a faculty or staff member to honor extensive local and/or national and international service

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award

Recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in community-based instruction, including service learning, public service internships and community partnership projects

University Faculty Lecturer

This award honors current or emeriti faculty whose research, scholarship or art has been widely recognized by their peers and whose achievements have had a substantial impact on their professions, on the research or performance of others and perhaps on society as a whole.

President’s Medal

The President’s Medal is given to two top seniors in the graduating class, one of whom completed at least three-fourths of his or her degree requirement at the UW and the other who entered the UW with at least 60 transfer credits from a Washington community college. Candidates are judged on overall academic record, including grades.

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award

Presented to faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs sponsored by the UW and aimed at adults for professional development, personal interest or career redirection

Distinguished Librarian Award

Recognizes excellence in librarianship, especially as it benefits the academic community through teaching, research, learning and innovative approaches to practice

James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities

The James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities recognizes a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning by creating or sustaining learning communities among students.

AlumnA Summa Laude Dignata

As one of the highest honors that the University can bestow on a graduate, this award is given to an alumnus or alumna for a lifetime record of achievement.

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award

Given to individuals who make outstanding efforts on behalf of the UW Alumni Association

Comments are closed.