Search | Directories | Reference Tools
UW Home > Discover UW > About the UW 
Faculty Senate

About the Senate
Contact the Senate
Calendar of Meetings
Membership & Records
Senate Committees
State Legislative Liaison
Issues Under Consideration
Dispute Resolution
Faculty Code
UW Policy Directory
Dispute Reslolution

All University faculty have rights and responsibilities that are protected under the University Handbook, which includes the Faculty Code. Faculty who are concerned about possible injustices or mistreatment have many options at their disposal. The two links below contain detailed guides to those options:

A Faculty Guide to Dispute Resolution at the UW
Summary Table of Dispute Resolution Options

Especially if the aggrieving action may violate the Faculty Code, it is appropriate to contact the Secretary of the Faculty for information about the adjudication process set forth in Chapter 28 of the Faculty Code.

Chapter 28 mandates the appointment of an Adjudication Panel, a broad-based peer group whose members hear grievances and recommend remedies. The Chair of this Panel reports annually on the work of the Panel. Current members of the Adjudication Panel, and the Panel's current annual report, are as follows:

Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2012-2013
Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2011-2012
Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2010-2011
Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2009-2010
Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2008-2009
Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2007-2008
Adjudication Panel Annual Report 2006-2007

Adjudication Panel Members 2011-2012

Tom Andrews, Panel Chair (Law)
Lisa Coutu (Communication)
Ross Heath (Oceanography)
Marieka Klawitter (Evans School)
Steven Pfaff (Sociology)
Lea Vaughn (Law)
Thomas Cobb (Law)
Clare Ryan (Forest Resources)
Kristiina Vogt (Forest Resources)
Kenneth Krohn (Radiology)
Gautham Reddy (Radiology)
Thomas Hazlet (Pharmacy)
Arnold Berger (UWB Computing)