Last week, Facebook broadened its reach to allow people without Facebook accounts to be able to view more profile information than they could in the past. If you have a Facebook profile, this is a good time to go check your privacy settings. (Look for the Settings link in the upper-right corner of your profile.) If any of your privacy settings are set to “Everyone”—which, unfortuately for those aren’t paying close attention, is the default setting for profiles—then anyone who searches for your name on the Web will be able to see that information, even if they aren’t logged into Facebook and aren’t one of your “friends” or in your Facebook network. The Facebook site offers a more detailed explanation of how this works and what it means.
My thanks to Hall Health’s Heather Larson for bringing this to my attention by posting a link to this New York Times article.