UW's IT Accessibility Team Wins UW-IT ACE Award!

Wednesday, August 2, 2017
Gaby, Dan, Doug, Susie, Sheryl, Terrill, Anna Marie, and Hadi

The IT Accessibility Team was assembled to meet the requirements of the new WA State Policy #188. This new policy requires higher education institutions to adhere to new rules, so that all individuals, including people with disabilities, have access to our technology. This team includes some of the top accessibility experts in the country. Since 2016, they have worked on creating a large database of various IT products used on campus in order to track the current state and future plans for each product's accessibility. For the last eight months they have collaborated within the UW and statewide to update guidelines, create an IT accessibility plan for the campus, establish workflows and processes for making sure IT is accessible, and worked hard to educate campus stakeholders about the importance of equal access to IT. The IT Accessibility Team truly embodies the meaning of equality and progress. Way to go team!

(Celebrated on: July 13, 2017 | Recognized individuals: Sheryl Burgstahler, Dan Comden, Lyla Crawford, Gaby de Jongh, Anna Marie Golden, Susie Hawkey, Doug Hayman, Hadi Rangin, Terrill Thompson)

Reprinted from the Inside UW-IT page (accessible to UW-IT Members only).