'97 Ambassadors


[Group Picture of '97 Scholars]

DO-IT Ambassadors are pursuing postsecondary studies and careers. They share their experiences with the younger DO-IT Scholars and Pals, encouraging them to pursue their goals in college and careers.

Don | Andrew | Amanda | Jennifer | Minh | Trent | Brad | Ben | Justin | Michael | Alexi | Karyn | Joshua | Shakethia | Steven | Chris | Laura | Keaton | Veronica | Sharon |

Don, '97 Scholar
They call me Don, Jr. I call myself Dystar. I'm a computer enthusiast. I come from middle-of-nowhere Kansas, otherwise known as Lecompton. I have several learning disabilities. I attend Johnson County Community College. My creativity is overflowing, but I am selectively motivated.

[Picture of andrew] Andrew, '97 Scholar
My name is Andrew, and I have a mobility impairment. I have a weakness and lack of control on my left side, especially my left hand. I live in State College, PA. I enjoy programming, writing and reading literature, photography, and music. I am majoring in physics at the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York.

[Picture of Amanda] Amanda, '97 Scholar
My name is Amanda, and I am a paraplegic. I attend the University of Great Falls in Montana. I enjoy algebra, English, biology, chemistry, and journalism. I like to read, write, and go on the Internet. I also enjoy photography. I was an Intern in Summer Study '99.

[Picture of Jennifer] Jennifer, '97 Scholar
Hi. My name is Jennifer. My disability is blindness. I attend the University of North Dakota. I am majoring in early childhood education. Some things I enjoy doing are reading, going to movies, and hanging out with my Tri Delt sorority sisters. DO-IT enables me to keep in contact with those I have met.

[Picture of Minh] Minh, '97 Scholar
My name is Minh (Cynthia). I attend the University of Washington. I am thinking about majoring in international business. My disability is Achondroplasia ("little people" or short). Even though I'm 20 years old, my height is only 4'. My hobbies are traveling, watching movies, using e-mail, and searching the Web. I also like to chat. *smile*

[Picture of Trent] Trent, '97 Scholar
Hi, my name is Trent. I attend Bellevue Community College. I plan to begin a new two-year program there called Transition to Success, with the goal of attaining more job skills and working toward independence. I have also been working at Target for a year as a customer service helper. I have been volunteering as a camp counselor the last two summers and as an assistant coach for Challenger Little League. I enjoy computers and would like to create another Web site soon.

[Picture of Brad] Brad, '97 Scholar
My name is Brad. I attend the University of Arizona pursuing a major in mechanical engineering. One of my hobbies is chess. I use a wheelchair because I broke my neck almost five years ago. I enjoy playing tennis and rugby in my free time. I still do a lot of things for myself. I even drive!

[Picture of Ben] Ben, '97 Scholar
My name is Ben, and I am a quadriplegic due to a football accident. I attend Green River Community College in Washington. I am studying mechanical design drafting. My hobbies are watching sports, working out, and listening to reggae and classic rock music.

[Picture of Justin] Justin, '97 Scholar
Hello. My name is Justin, and I'm from Florida. I'm blind, but it doesn't stop me from taking on new challenges. I am looking forward to getting a guide dog. I am attending St. Pete Junior College in Florida. I love to sing country music using the guitar or keyboards. I hope to find a career that involves both music and computers. I also just recently got engaged to be married. Back in 1998, I went to the Intel Conference in Fort Worth, Texas and presented DO-IT to an international audience.

[Picture of Michael] Michael, '97 Scholar
My name is Michael and I hail from Parker, Colorado. I have Spina Bifida and Upper Motor Neuron Dysfunction. When I'm not found on my computer (either playing or doing homework), I'm eating; sleeping; playing with my black Labrador Retrievers, Rosemary and Wallace; or listening to music. I regularly attend various cultural and academic events, such as speeches, drumming sessions, and other fun diversionary experiences at Colorado College. I am declared as a history-philosophy major, and I received one of 40 Boettcher awards for Colorado in 1999. That means free schooling (YES!!!). I was an Intern in Summer Study '99.

[Picture of Alexi] Alexi, '97 Scholar
Hello. My name is Alexi. I am profoundly deaf and have used cochlear implants since 1993. I am double majoring in English and publishing at the University of Connecticut. I have finally managed to convert my passion, reading, into a viable career path. I am hoping to one day be an editor. In my spare time at school, I cheer for both our men's and women's basketball teams. Go Huskies! I was an Intern in Summer Study '01.

[Picture of Karyn] Karyn, '97 Scholar
My name is Karyn. I graduated from Interlake High School in Washington. Right now I am working as a sales consultant for Qwest. My learning disability is Dyslexia. My interests are roller-blading, playing computer games, talking in chat rooms, and playing soccer and basketball. I collect giraffes; I have several hundred.

[Picture of Joshua] Joshua, '97 Scholar
Hello. I'm Joshua and I have a learning disability that involves understanding grammar and written language. I enjoy fooling around with my friends and running in cross country.This winter I joined the U.S. Army. My main love, though, is to take things apart to see how they work, manipulate or fix them, and then put them back together. I was an Intern in Summer Study '99.

[Picture of Shakethia] Shakethia, '97 Scholar
Bonjour! My name is Shakethia. I attend Mississippi State University. I am majoring in accounting and plan to go to law school. I am a paraplegic from a gunshot wound and use a wheelchair. Some of the things I like to do in my spare time are watching television, talking on the phone, going to the movies, playing with my computer, and listening to music. I was an Intern in Summer Study '99.

[Picture of Steven] Steven, '97 Scholar
Hello. My name is Steven. I graduated from Trumbull High School in Connecticut. I attend the University of Connecticut with a possible major in computer science. I have a severe hearing loss.

Chris, '97 Scholar
Hello. My name is Chris. I attend Virgina Tech University as an Engineering major. I am Dyslexic. I like to play sports and hang out with friends.

[Picture of Laura] Laura, '97 Scholar
My name is Laura. I live near Cleveland, OH. I attend Hendrix College, where I'm majoring in astronomy and biology. My disability is an ischemic spinal cord injury. My hobbies include reading, writing, and music. I was an Intern in Summer Study '99.

[Picture of Keaton] Keaton, '97 Scholar
Hi. My name is Keaton, and I'm blind. I live in Utah, and I'm about to get married. I attend the University of Utah. I like anything scientific and I am looking at a major in engineering. My hobbies include collecting key chains, listening to music, and talking to people. I have found my membership in DO-IT to be empowering. The DO-IT experience helps liberate my mental functions from becoming stagnant or self-limiting. Thanks to DO-IT, I have assimilated the thought patterns, "I can DO-IT" and "I will DO-IT!" In addition, interfacing with other DO-IT Scholars entities helps me synthesize strategies pertaining to how I am going to DO-IT. DO-IT ROCKS!

[Picture of Veronica] Veronica, '97 Scholar
I am Veronica and I have Arthrogryposis. I attend Harvard University in Massachusetts. Right now I am studying social studies and international relations in economics. I will eventually go to law school and practice patient law. My other interests include singing; I am a member of the Ratcliffe Pitches.

[Picture of Sharon] Sharon, '97 Scholar Hello. My name is Sharon. I have Retinitis Pigmentosa, a low vision problem. I live in Pendleton, OR. I attend Portland State University, where I study social sciences. My hope is to become a teacher for the visually impaired. I have a guide dog, Kistler, who I dearly love. I enjoy my dogs and other animals, football, basketball, gymnastics, bike riding, and spending time with family and friends. I am very active with Guide Dogs for the Blind; I volunteer every summer and get to be part of their