1998 DO-IT Volunteer Career Mentors


DO-IT Mentors
Mentors encourage DO-IT Scholars, Ambassadors, and Pals as they pursue academic programs and careers. Some Mentors are still in college; others are pursuing careers in science, engineering, mathematics, and technology. Most have disabilities themselves and share valuable experiences, insights, and resources with younger participants.

Denis Anson
Computer Access Specialist
danson@miseri.edu

Sean Barrett
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Assistive Technology Specialist
Washington Assistive Technology Alliance
sbarre@u.washington.edu

Kevin Berg
Cerebral Palsy
Web consultant
kberg@lenacres.org

Arthur Blaser
Quadriplegic
Lawyer
blaser@chapman.edu

Linda Bowman
Learning disability
Psychologist
lkb@sprynet.com

Karen Braitmayer
Mobility impairment
Architect
stupack@aol.com

Len Burns
Sasquatch Computer Services
lburns@sasquatch.com

Rod Chard
Low vision
US WEST Communications
rchard@uswest.com

John Cohen
Learning disability
Technology Specialist
Puget Sound Educational Service District
jcohen@whitecap.psesd.wednet.edu

Frank Cuta
Blind
Research Engineer, Battelle Pacific Laboratories
fm_cuta@pnlg.pnl.gov

Thomas Dreschel
Biologist/Science Education Coordinator
Kennedy Space Center
thomas.dreschel-1@KSC.NASA.GOV

Gregory Fowler
Blind
Software Engineer, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Fowler@cisco.com

Kathi Fuller
Mobility impairment
Coordinator, Specialized Student Services
Norwich University
kfuller@norwich.edu

Tony Hand
Teacher, Seattle Public Schools
ahand@u.washington.edu

Jeff Harris
Blind
Software Engineer
jharris@u.washington.edu

Roger Harris
Stroke
Associate Professor, Biological Structure
University of Washington
rogerh@u.washington.edu

Michael Herbert
Educator
mherbert@u.washington.edu

Dr. Todd Heywood
Hearing impairment
IBM Power Parallel Systems
theywood@kgn.ibm.com

Erich Ho
Cerebral Palsy
Intel
rogerfox@best.com

Michael Hood
Deaf
Purdue University
hood@ecn.purdue.edu

Kevin Hopkins
Mobility impairment
Graphics Technician
hopkev@u.washington.edu

Sharon Jodock-King
Cerebral Palsy
Advocate
bd168@scn.org

Ed Keller
Diabetes, mobility impairment
Professor, Biology Environmental Science
West Virginia University
u0072@wvnvm.wvnet.edu

Jeanne Marie Keller
Mobility impairment
Personnel Representative
jkeller@wasc.noaa.gov

Jarrett Knyal
Mobility impairment
Multimedia Interface Designer;
Pre-Med graduate student
knyal@ils.nwu.edu

Bernice Laden
Computing & Communications, UW
bladen@u.washington.edu

Richard Ladner
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington
ladner@cs.washington.edu

Douglas Lefever
Cerebral Palsy
Life Instructor
coloboy@u.washington.edu

French Leger
Specific learning disability
Mechanical designer
leger@u.washington.edu

Mia Lipner
Blind
Technical Writer
mjl@drizzle.com

Steve Marquardt
Paraplegic
Instructor, UW
marquart@u.washington.edu

Dean Martineau
Blind
Math tutor, Internet Resources Assistant
deamar@u.washington.edu

Robert F. McKellar
Spina Bifida
Author: An Accident of Birth
Educator/Counselor
70314.2153@compuserve.com

Phillip Myers
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
University of Wisconsin
phillip@me.engr.wisc.edu

Lan Nguyen
Blind
Assistive Technology Specialist
lann@u.washington.edu

Katherine Pananen
Cerebral Palsy
Graduate student
University of Colorado
pananen@u.washington.edu

Bruce Parks
Hearing impairment
Teacher, Wilmington School District, Vermont
beparks@sover.net

Wendy Pava
Blind
Veterans Administration Medical Center
wendyp@u.washington.edu

Gay Lloyd Pinder
Deaf
Children's Therapy Center of Kent
glpin@u.washington.edu

Ed Pottharst
Deaf
Biologist, Environmentalist, Seattle City Light
edp@u.washington.edu

Richard Radtke, Ph.D.
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and
Planetology
radtke@hawaii.edu

T.V. Raman
Blind
Senior Computer Scientist, Adobe Systems
raman@adobe.com

Juanita Sloss
ADD, hyperactivity
Special education teacher
jsloss@northerntel.net

Greg Smith
Quadriplegic
Engineer, Microsoft
gregsmi@microsoft.com

Patrick Stayton
Assistant Professor, Center for
Bioengineering
University of Washington
stayton@bioeng.washington.edu

Dr. Bill Stilwater
Mobility impairment
Volunteer, Yakima School District
dr_bill@wolfenet.com

Bill Taylor
Software Engineer
WingNut 700@aol.com

Sue Ellen Walbridge
Spina Bifida
Program Specialist, Department of Energy
Sue-Ellen.Walbridge@mailgw.er.doe.gov

Dr. Stephen Wallin
Hearing and visual impairments
Physics Professor
University of Southern Colorado
swallin@uscolo.edu

Michael Wardin
Health, hearing, and visual impairment
Adaptive Training Specialist
University of Missouri
ccmikew@showme.missouri.edu

Bruce Wilson
Post-polio muscular/respiratory impariments
Manager, Human Interactivity Program
Boeing Computer Services
bruce.r.wilson@boeing.com

Jaromir Zak
Camp Courage Counselor
xzakj02@alfa.vse.cz

Dr. Paul Zaveruha
Surgeon
zavy@whidbey.net

William Zoller
Brain injury
Professor, Chemistry
University of Washington
zoller@chem.washington.edu