1997 DO-IT Volunteer Mentors


Mentors encourage DO-IT Scholars, Ambassadors, and Pals as they pursue academic programs and careers. Some mentors are still in college; others are pursuing careers. Most have disabilities themselves and share valuable experiences, insights, and resources with younger participants.

Postsecondary Student Mentors

Sue Yasuko Abe
Cerebral Palsy
Graduate student,
San Francisco State University
hisuechan@aol.com

Bapin Axbhatta
Deaf/Blind
Political Science major
University of Arkansas
axbhatta@ualr.edu

Shem Bingman
Low vision
Comparative Religions/Computer Science student, UW
shem@u.washington.edu

Jenna Clark
Mobility impairment
Psychology major, Seattle University
jclark@seattleu.edu

Minda Dentler
Mobility impairment
Student, UW
mdentler@u.washington.edu

Imke Durre
Blind
Doctorate student, UW
imke@atmos.washington.edu

Steve Harper
Cerebral Palsy
Student
stevamundo@aol.com

Sungeeta Jain
Paraplegic
Engineering student, UW
geetu@u.washington.edu

Mia Lipner
Blind
Communications student, UW
mjlipner@u.washington.edu

Dave Moskowitz
Cerebral Palsy
Pre-Med student, UW
dmosk@u.washington.edu

David Orvis
Nuclear Engineering student, UW
dorvis@tip.aa.washington.edu

Career Mentors

Denis Anson
Computer Access Specialist
danson@miseri.edu

Sean Barrett
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Assistive Technology Specialist
Washington Assistive Technology Alliance
sbarre@u.washington.edu

Bill Barry
Research Assistant, Physics, OSU
barryw@ucs.orst.edu

Kevin Berg
Cerebral Palsy
Web support
k_berg@paul.spu.edu

Arthur Blaser
Quadriplegic
Lawyer
blaser@chapman.edu

Linda Bowman
Learning disability
Psychologist, Special education teacher
lkb@sprynet.com

Karen Braitmayer
Mobility impairment
Architect
stupack@aol.com

Len Burns
Sasquatch Computer Services
lburns@sasquatch.com

Rod Chard
Low vision
U.S. West Communications
rchard@pn1.mnet.uswest.com

John Cohen
Learning Disability
Technology Specialist
Puget Sound Educational District
jcohen@whitecap.psesd.wednet.edu

Kathy Cook
Counselor, UW Disabled Student Services
kathydss@u.washington.edu

Frank Cuta
Blind
Research Engineer, Batelle Pacific 1 Laboratories
fm_cuta@pnlg.pnl.gov

Thomas Dreschel
Biologist/Science Education Coordinator
Kennedy Space Center
thomas.dreschel-1@KSC.NASA.GOV

Gregory Fowler
Blind
Software Engineer, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Fowler@cisco.com

Kathi Fuller
Mobility Impairment
Coordinator, Specialized Student Services
Norwich University
kfuller@norwich.edu

Tony Hand
Teacher, Seattle Public Schools
ahand@u.washington.edu

Jeff Harris
Blind
Software Engineer
jharris@u.washington.edu

Roger Harris
Stroke
Associate Professor, Biological Structure, UW
rogerh@u.washington.edu

Michael Herbert
Educator
mherbert@u.washington.edu

Dr. Todd Heywood
Hearing impairment
IBM Power Parallel Systems
theywood@kgn.ibm.com

Erich Ho
Cerebral Palsy
Intel
rogerfox@best.com

Michael Hood
Deaf
Purdue University
hood@ecn.purdue.edu

Kevin Hopkins
Mobility impairment
Graphics Technician
hopkev@u.washington.edu

Sharon Jodock-King
Quadriplegic
Advocate
bd168@scn.org

Ed Keller
Diabetes, mobility impairment
Professor, Biology Environmental Science
West Virginia University
u0072@wvnvm.wvnet.edu

Jeanne Marie Keller
Mobility impairment
Personnel representative
jkeller@wasc.noaa.gov

Jarrett Knyal
Mobility impairment
Multimedia interface designer;
Pre-Med graduate student
knyal@ils.nwu.edu

Bernice Laden
Computing & Communications, UW
bladen@u.washington.edu

Richard Ladner
Professor, Computer Science & Engineering, UW
ladner@cs.washington.edu

Douglas Lefever
Cerebral Palsy
Psychotherapist and life instructor
coloboy@hawking.u.washington.edu

French Leger
Specific learning disability
Mechanical designer
leger@u.washington.edu

Steve Marquardt
Paraplegic
Instructor, UW
marquart@u.washington.edu

Dean Martineau
Blind
Math tutor, Internet resources assistant
deamar@u.washington.edu

Phillip Myers
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
University of Wisconsin
phillip@me.engr.wisc.edu

Lan Nguyen
Blind
Assistive Technology Specialist
lann@u.washington.edu

Steve Nourse
Mobility impairment
Center for Change in Transition Services, UW
graduate@wolfenet.com

Katherine Pananen
Cerebral Palsy
Secondary School Teacher, Seattle
pananen@u.washington.edu

Bruce Parks
Hearing Impairment
Teacher, Wilmington School District
beparks@sover.net

Wendy Pava
Blind
Veterans Administration Medical Center
wendyp@u.washington.edu

Gay Lloyd Pinder
Deaf
Children's Therapy Center of Kent
glpin@u.washington.edu

Ed Pottharst
Deaf
Biologist, environmentalist, Seattle City Light
edp@u.washington.edu

T.V. Raman
Blind
Senior Computer Scientist, Adobe Systems
raman@adobe.com

Juanita Sloss
ADD, hyperactivity
Special Education Teacher
jsloss@imt.net

Greg Smith
Quadriplegic
Engineer, Microsoft
gregsmi@microsoft.com

John Smith
Associate Professor, Education, UW
jpsmith@u.washington.edu

Patrick Stayton
Assistant Professor, Center for
Bioengineering, UW
stayton@bioeng.washington.edu

Dr. Bill Stilwater
Mobility impairment
Volunteer, Yakima School District
dr_bill@wolfenet.com

Bill Taylor
Software Engineer
WingNut 700@aol.com

Sue Ellen Walbridge
Spina Bifida
Program Specialist, Department of Energy
Sue-Ellen.Walbridge@mailgw.er.doe.gov

Dr. Stephen Wallin
Hearing and visual impairments
Colorado
swallin@uscolo.edu

Michael Wardin
Health, hearing, and visual impairment
Adaptive Training Specialist,
University of Missouri
ccmikew@showme.missouri.edu

Bruce Wilson
Post-polio muscular/respiratory impariments
Manager, Human Interactivity Program, Boeing Computer Services
bruce.r.wilson@boeing.com

Jaromir Zak
Camp Courage Counselor
xzakj02@alfa.vse.cz

Dr. Paul Zaveruha
Surgeon
zavy@whidbey.net

William Zoller
Brain injury
Professor, Chemistry, UW
zoller@chem.washington.edu