1997 Phase I DO-IT Scholars


[group photo of Phase I scholars]

1997 Participants

Don | Andrew | Amanda | Jennifer | Minh | Trent | Brad
Ben | Justin | Michael | Alexi | Karyn | Joshua | Shakethia
Steven | Laura | Keaton | Veronica | Sharon

Phase I Scholars attended their first DO-IT summer study at the University of Washington in August of 1997. They learned about college life and participated in science, engineering, mathematics, and Internet activities. Throughout the year they communicate with each other and the DO-IT participants. They use the Internet to support their academic studies, and they complete projects in the areas of science, engineering, mathematics, and technology.


Picture of Don

Don

Hey, my name's Don (a.k.a. Dystar) and I'm from Kansas. I have a learning disability. I get too wrapped up in what I want to say that my assignments almost always become late as a result. I LOVE free-hand rock climbing, talking, and participating in dynamic, interesting things. I don't have a specific college in mind that I want to go to right now, but I am still looking.


Picture of Andrew

Andrew

My name is Andrew, and I have a mobility impairment. I have a weakness and lack of control on my left side, and especially my left hand. I am 16, presently live in Pennsylvania. I enjoy programming and music, and plan to do research in physics.


Picture of Amanda

Amanda

My name is Amanda and I am a paraplegic. I live in Montana and I will be a junior in 97-98 school year. I enjoy algebra, English, biology, and journalism. I like to read, write, and go on the Internet. I also like animals.


Picture of Jennifer

Jennifer

My name is Jenny. My disability is blindness. This year I will be a senior at a high school in North Dakota. My favorite things to do in school are to sing and visit with friends. My favorite things to do for fun are to read, talk on the phone and hang out with friends. My goal is to get a degree in counseling.


Picture of Minh

Minh

My name is Minh. I'm a junior this September at a Seattle high school. My disability is that I'm short. Even though I'm 17 years old, my height is just like a 7 year old kid. My hobbies are traveling, watchng movies, playing the Internet, and reading. My major interest is medicine.


Picture of Trent

Trent

Hi, my name is Trent. I am going to be a senior at Roosevelt High School in Washington. I enjoy watching and playing sports. I also enjoy video games a lot. I wrestle at Roosevelt despite having seizures.


Picture of Brad

Brad

My name is Brad. I will be a senior in high school this fall. I plan on going to college to be an engineer. I am in a wheelchair because I broke my neck almost 4 years ago. I still do a lot of things for myself though. I even drive! One of my hobbies is chess.


Picture of Ben

Ben

My name is Ben and I am a quadriplegic. I live in Washington and am going to be a senior. My hobbies are watching sports, working out, and listening to reggae and classic rock music. I hope to pursue architecture in college.


Picture of Justin

Justin

Hello, my name is Justin and I'm from Florida. I'm blind but it doesn't stop me from taking on new challenges. I will be a junior this fall and will consider attending the University of Washington when I graduate. I love to sing country music using either the guitar or keyboards. I hope to find a career that involves both music and computers.


Picture of Michael

Michael

My name is Michael and I hail from Colorado. I have Spina Bifida and Upper Motor Neuron Dysfunction (a fancy way of saying CP not from birth). When I'm not found on my computer (either playing or doing homework), I'm doing one of a few things: eating, sleeping, playing with my Black Labrador Retriever Rosie, studying Spanish, watching TV, or listening to music.


Picture of Alexi

Alexi

Hello, my name is Alexi. I am going to be a junior at Greens Farms Academy in Connecticut in the fall of '97. I am profoundly deaf to the point where I might as well have no ears. To compensate for this extreme hearing loss I have used a surgically implanted cochlear hearing device since September of '93. Some of my interests are jigsaw puzzles, NY Times crossword puzzles, basketball, baseball, and any other recreational sports or games.


Picture of Karyn

Karyn

My name is Karyn. I am 17 years old and I will be a senior at Interlake High School in Washington. My learning disablity is dyslexia. My interests are roller blading, playing computer games, talking on chat rooms, playing soccer and basketball. I collect giraffes. I have several hundred of them.


Picture of Joshua

Joshua


Hello, I'm Joshua and I have a learning disablity that involves the grammer and understanding of the written language. I enjoy fooling around with my friends, running in cross country, and I also do some freestyle biking. My main love, though, is to take things apart to see how they work, manipulate them, or fix them and then put them back together.


Picture of Shakethia

Shakethia


My name is Shakethia. I am sixteen years old and currently going to the eleventh grade. I go to a high school in Mississippi. I am a paraplegic from a gunshot wound and use a wheelchair. Some of the things I like to do in my spare time are watching television, talking on the phone, going to the movies, playing with my computer and listening to music. After I finish school I would like to become a lawyer.


Picture of Steven

Steven


Hello, my name is Steven. I am going to be a junior this year at Trumbull High in Connecticut. I have a severe hearing loss. I play soccer for my school. This year I am thinking of trying out for track and field. I love to play all sorts of sports, particularly soccer, basketball, and flag football. I like to listen to music, read some scary books, and play games on computers or boards. I like startegic games. My favorite game is Command and Conquer Red Alert.


Picture of Laura

Laura


My name is Laura. I live near Cleveland, Ohio and will be a junior for the '97-'98 school year. My disability is an ischemic spinal cord injury. My interests include astronomy and biology, and my hobbies include reading, writing and music.


Picture of Keaton

Keaton


Hi, my name is Keaton. I'm from Alaska and I'm blind. I will be a junior this fall. I like anything scientific. It's like candy to me, I eat it up and I can't stop. I plan to attend University of Washington or Southern Utah University when I graduate. My hobbies include collecting key chains, listening to music, and talking to people.


Picture of Veronica

Veronica


I am Veronica and I have Arthrogryposis. After high school, I want to go to college to study biology, specializing in genetic engineering or microbiology. My other interests include listening to and singing all types of music.


Picture of Sharon

Sharon


Hello my name is Sharon. I have Retnitis Pigmentosa which is a low vision problem. I live in Pendleton, Oregon. I am 17 years old and a senior in High school. I enjoy my guide dogs and other animals, football, basketball, gymnastics, bike riding, and just spending time with my family and friends, sports, and what goes on in my school. I enjoy spending time on the Internet looking things up that concern sports and animals.