1996 Phase III DO-IT Scholars


Picture of Phase III Scholars

1996 Participants

Anthony | Ben | Daniel | Mike | Shawwna | Nguyen
| Sarah | Carolyn | Katharine | Kristin | Erofei

Picture of Anthony

Anthony

I'm Anthony from Grand Forks, North Dakota. This past spring, I graduated from high school. This fall, I'm planing to attend Courage Center in Golden Valley, Minnesota to learn independent living skills, plus get some vocational training. After I complete this program, I am looking at beginning college to major in computer science or something in this area dealing with computers. My long-term goal is to become a developer of special technology like speaking devices. I really believe that my disability has been helped by technology, and I want to help other people like me with the aid of technology. I really thank DO-IT for pointing me towards this career.


Picture of Ben

Ben

I'm Ben and I live in Washington state. I have Muscular Dystrophy. Well, another year has flown by, and I've made some significant changes in my life because of DO-IT. I graduated from high school last spring and will be attending the University of Washington in the fall. My subjects of interest have increased dramatically because now I can access information on a whim. I've traveled the world on the Internet without even leaving my room. DO-IT has taught me to meet people over the Internet. Through my DO-IT contacts I worked in a paid internship at Pacific Northwest Labs last summer. Without DO-IT, I'd still probably be watching other people have success, but now they're watching me. Look out world, because Ben is coming and he's going to just DO-IT!!


Picture of Daniel

Daniel

My name is Daniel and I live in Olympia, Washington. I am 18 years old. I have a learning disability. I have trouble with spelling and word comprehension. I graduated this year from River Ridge High School. I lettered three times in cross country and twice in track. I like scuba diving, down hill skiing, and a lot of other sports. I want to be a marine biologist when I get out of school. I am going to go to Pierce Community College this fall.


Picture of Mike

Mike

I'm Mike, and I live in Oregon. I have ADHD with a specific learning disability in reading and writing. I love engineering, math, and drafting. I also enjoy riding my bike everywhere. I think the DO-IT program is cool.


Picture of Shawnna

Shawnna

Hi all! My name is Shawnna and I graduated from high school in Washington last spring. I am 18 years old. My illness is Muscular Dystrophy which attacks the muscles. But I get done what I need to, like going to school, which isn't really a task since I enjoy it. My hobbies include swimming, collecting baseball cards, watching TV, and working on my computer.


Picture of Nguyen

Nguyen

I am Nguyen. I graduated from high school in 1996. In 1992, I suffered a gunshot wound to the right hemisphere of my head which paralyzed the left side of my body. I use a one-handed keyboard. I have lived many places, but I like Washington the best. I'm going to a community college next fall.


Picture of Sarah

Sarah

My name is Sarah. I graduated from high school in March of 1996. In April I attended a community college in Oregon. This fall I will be transferring to the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, majoring in clinical lab science. My disability is a learning disability called Dyslexia which affects my reading, math, and spelling. The DO-IT program has really helped me a lot with understanding my disability and other types of disabilities. It has really made me open more doors for myself in believing I can DO-IT for life!


Picture of Carolyn

Carolyn

Hi! My name is Carolyn. I will graduate from high school in Washington state this coming spring. In the future, I would like to teach science. I also enjoy writing in my spare time. I was born with Cerebral Palsy. I also have a neurological disorder that causes low vision


Picture of Katharine

Katharine

Katharine is my name. I graduated from high school this past spring. I love the outdoors--whether it's skiing, hiking, biking, riding, or swimming--you name it, I "do it"! I enjoy mathematics, business, and engineering. I'm learning disabled and reading is difficult. DO-IT has loaned me Outspoken screen reading software and a scanner, both of which help me with reading. This fall I'm attending University of British Columbia in Vancouver, British Columbia. The DO-IT program has made me aware that no matter what disability anyone has, adaptive technology can really help to cope with it. The DO-IT program has given me a whole new experience socially. I have met really great, supportive people through email and the program itself. THANK YOU DO-IT!


Picture of Kristin

Kristin

My name is Kristin. I am 19 years old and live in Spokane, Washington. I graduated from East Valley High School in June. I am going to Vancouver, Washington, for a year at the State School for the Blind. During my senior year in high school, I finished my science project of writing a story about my life and history, but substituting dinosaurs for the characters. I called my story "A Dinosaur's Courage." I also did all of the pictures for my story. I like to do word search puzzles in my spare time and play on the computer. I really like to draw. I am in the DO-IT Program because I am hard of hearing and I have low vision. I also have a weak left side because of the two strokes I've had. Sometimes I have trouble remembering things too. I want to find a job working with art and maybe writing children's stories. I might want to work for a hospital or clinic.


Picture of Erofei

Erofei

Hi, my name is Erofei, and I come from Oregon. The reason why I am in DO-IT is because I lost my hands in a farming accident, and I'm interested in science. I am planning to attend Clackamas Community College where I will learn how to become a drafting engineer. Some of my favorite activities are soccer, fishing, and rollerblading.


Caption: Kristin and Bridget complete their zoo project with the help of interpreter Linda. Picture of Kristin & Bridget