Phase I DO-IT Scholars


1994 Participants

Anthony | Ben | Jenny | Maria | Daniel | Travis | Takuya
Sherri | Mike | Shawnna | Nguyen | Sarah | Carolyn
Katherine | Kris | Kristin | Megan | Erofei | Sheryl


Picture of Anthony Anthony

My name is Anthony. I'm from Grand Forks, ND. I will be in the eleventh grade in the fall. I also work for a little computer factory where we customize computer systems for peoples' homes. I use a left-handed keyboard guard to use my computer and have a Liberator for my "voice." I have Cerebral Palsy. The main reason why I'm in DO-IT is to help start my primary goal in life -- getting a career in computers.


Picture of Ben Ben

My name is Ben. I would like to write about how the DO-IT Program has changed my view on life. For years I haven't been able to walk or lift my arms. So I let my fingers shine and played video games. But whenever the word computer came into conversation I couldn't relate because I couldn't hold my arms up to type. One of the worst feelings I had was when I watched someone else's enjoyment using a computer, because I couldn't. But with the DO-IT Program, the only thing we have on our minds is, "What can we not do?" We are all going to succeed, are all smart enough, and now that we have the power of a computer, the gold that was always just out of reach can now be grasped.


Picture of Jenny Jenny

My name is Jenny. My disability is not specifically diagnosed yet. No one really knows exactly what I have. They call it Peripheral Neuropathy. It affects my arms and legs. I am in a wheelchair. My goals are to become an ecologist or something of that sort. I am hoping the DO-IT Program will help me reach this goal. The Internet allows me to access files on different issues concerning the earth from all over the world. With the net I can also talk to people all over the world and get a first hand account of the happenings.


Picture of Maria Maria

My name is Maria. I'll be a senior this school year in Vancouver, WA. I have post-polio in my right leg and use a brace for mobility support. My mom and I moved here from the Philippines almost five years ago. Some of my hobbies include camping, swimming, and writing friends back home. I am interested in the medical field. I want to go to college. Ten years from now I hope I have my own family, am truly content, helping people, and my mom is still around to help me spend my money shopping! Having a computer around could help me to cut my research time in half, especially this school year with my four science classes.


Picture of Daniel Daniel

Hi, my name is Daniel. I will be in the eleventh grade this year in Olympia, WA. I have a specific learning disability. I am interested in scuba diving, and am certified as an open water diver. I am also an Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America. I like to hike and camp in the out- doors. I am on my school's track and cross country team. I want to become a forest ranger or an oceanographer. I want to go to college to major in forestry and minor in law enforcement. My computer helps me with my spelling, writing, and research for school projects. Having access to the Internet helps me go more in-depth with my school projects and work with my mentor.


Picture of Travis Travis

My name is Travis. I am a high school senior in Monteview, ID. Like Rodney, I am a confessed computer addict. I enjoy programming and I hope to be a professional programmer or software engineer. Right now I am writing programs in the C++ Language on the PC. My disability is that I have achondroplasia, shortness of the limbs. I also have some urinary problems. I have to wear braces on my feet. But, what's a disability? All I know is that I like computers and my car, a Cavalier Z-24 (black).


Picture of Takuya Takuya

My name is Takuya. I will attend high school as a senior beginning September, 1994. I live in Kirkland, WA. I am looking forward to attending the University of Washington. My major and career might be computer science or medical care. My interests are trigonometry, physics, biology, chemistry, laboratory work, and the theory of math. My hobbies are collecting stamps and playing tennis. The nature of my disabilities are health impairment, congenital scoliosis, and nervous system dysmorphia. The value of computer use, as a disabled student, is grammar and spell checking.


Picture of Sherri Sherri

My name is Sherri. I am 17 years old. I live in the small town of Rogue River, OR. It is located in southwestern Oregon. I am going to be a senior in high school. This year I am going to study health, global studies, analysis, physics, psychology, and sociology. I also have interests in chemistry, genetics, biology, and most other fields of science and computers. I am legally blind and use special software to enlarge characters on my computer screen.


Picture of Mike Mike

My name is Mike. I go to high school in Keizer, OR. I have a learning disability and use grammar and spell checking features to help with writing. I ride my bike all of the time...I like DO-IT!


Picture of Shawnna Shawnna

My name is Shawnna. I live with my dad, Gary Lane, in the Tri-cities area of Washington. I have four sisters and two brothers. I go to Kennewick High School and I really enjoy it. I use large print and Sticky Keys on my computer. I am 16 years old and have Muscular Dystrophy.


Picture of Nguyen Nguyen

My name is Nguyen and I am 18 years old. I am a sophomore in high school. In 1992 I suffered a gunshot wound to the right hemisphere of my head which paralyzed the left side of my body. I use a one-handed keyboard. DO-IT has given me a lot besides a Powerbook, printer, and modem. I'm very confident about a college career because of all the beneficial resources presented during the two weeks. The people have been very resourceful and helpful. I am fortunate to be part of such a program.


Picture of Sarah Sarah

My name is Sarah. I will be a Junior in high school in Vancouver, WA. Next year I will be enrolled in an alternative education program at Bay called Eagle's Wing. We learn by completing special research projects rather than attending class all day. I have a learning disability called Dyslexia. This affects my reading and math. I definitely plan on attending college. The University of Washington is my first choice because it is a big school and I really like Seattle. I am interested in the law, government, and working with underprivileged people. I hope that the DO-IT Program will help me learn how to use the computer so I can read more effectively.


Picture of Carolyn Carolyn

My name is Carolyn. I live in Lake Forest Park, WA. I'll be a Junior in high school. My family includes my mom and dad, Kim and Bob, my younger brothers, John and Cameron, and my cousin, Scott. We also have a black poodle named Kristen. I was born with Cerebral Palsy. In addition to that, I have a neurological condition, similar to Multiple Sclerosis, which has not yet been diagnosed. It causes me to have low vision. Some day I would like to be a biology or chemistry teacher. I also have an interest in genetics and medicine. My other hobbies include reading and writing poetry and short stories.


Picture of Katherine Katherine

I'm a 17 year old redhead named Katherine. I'm going to be a Junior in high school. I don't participate in team sports at school, but I'm extremely active and love the outdoors. I love to bike, ride, ski, hike, jog, jump on my trampoline, swim, and much more. Besides using my body, I love to use my mind. Math and my mind seem to really like each other! Until I came to DO-IT, I thought I wanted to use math in the business world -- I may re-evaluate now. The DO-IT Program has been excellent in making me aware of how we can cope with specific disabilities and of how many options are available within the realm of math, science, and technology. DO-IT is GREAT!


Picture of KrisKris

My name is Kris and I live in Ashland, OR...yes, that famous Shakespeare town. I enjoy computers, programming, science and, well, you name it I probably like it. I enjoy classical music (Mozart is the best!) and I also enjoy gymnastics. I am a coach, and I used to compete in Junior Olympics. I now mostly spend my time running my business. I own and operate a computer store in Ashland. It is fun, but it takes a lot of time. If you are curious as to my disability, I am visually impaired, but it doesn't bother me at all.


Picture of Kristin Kristin

My name is Kristin. I live in the valley of Spokane, WA. I will be a Junior this year at East Valley High School. I am 17 years old. I am hard of hearing and partly blind. I wear two hearing aids, can read large print and have special glasses for reading small print at home. I can see color and hear low sounds. I had a kidney transplant almost five years ago. My favorite subjects at school are math and history. The computer is good for me in school and at home because it is easier and faster to type than handwrite. I am interested in becoming a lab technician or an artist. I've gotten really good at drawing crazy cartoons and giving them names.


Picture of Megan Megan

My name is Megan and I live in Caldwell, ID. My interests include biology, medicine, and algebra. On the non-academic side I enjoy piano, voice, and relaxing. I attend Treasure Valley College just outside my hometown. I receive dual credits for high school and college. It has been a great alternative to high school. I hope to pursue a career in medicine, preferably in pediatric cardiology. Now I am a biology major. My disability is chronic Lyme Disease. It affects my immune system and energy level along with other more minor symptoms. I am much healthier now due to a diagnosis and treatment. That is, basically, me.


Picture of Erofei Erofei

My name is Erofei. I will turn 16 this year in October. I go to high school where I will be a Junior. I am in DO-IT because I have an interest in computers and am disabled. I lost both of my arms in a farm accident. I live in Woodburn, OR which is about a forty-five minute drive from Portland.


Picture of Sheryl Sheryl

My name is Sheryl Burgstahler. I have a husband, Dave, and a son, Travis. I have a Bachelors and a Masters degree in mathematics and a Ph.D. in higher education. I am an Assistant Director within Computing & Communications and a Research Assistant Professor at the University of Washington. I am particularly interested in how people with disabilities can make use of computers and networks and how the Internet can be used to create an electronic community...and, of course, I'm very interested in the "doitkids." Oh, by the way, I direct the DO-IT Project!
sherylb@cac.washington.edu