University of Washington DO-IT Home  
[DOIT Logo]
Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology

Did You Know?

There are two types of literary Braille.

Grade 1 Braille consists of the letters of the alphabet, punctuation, numbers, and a number of composition signs which are unique to Braille. Grade I Braille uses full spelling. Grade 2 Braille consists of Grade 1 Braille in addition to 189 contractions and short-form words. Grade 2 Braille is also known as "English Braille."