Engineering Professor Yongmin Kim became chair of the UW's bioengineering department, a joint unit of the School of Medicine and College of Engineering, on March 1. A prolific developer of new technologies for medical imaging and other applications, Kim came to the UW in 1982. He later founded the UW Image Computing Systems Laboratory. The Center for Bioengineering is ranked among the best departments in its field by the National Research Council.

Bioengineering Chair Yongmin Kim



Ten UW professors were among 283 U.S. faculty named as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science last winter. The 10 were honored for their "efforts toward advancing science" by the world's largest federation of scientists. They include Pathology Professor Charles Alpers, Sociology Professor Charles Hirschman, Provost (and Bioengineering Professor) Lee Huntsman, Zoology Professor Joel Kingsolver, Biochemistry Professor Rachel Klevit, Law Professor Anna Mastroianni, Chemistry Professor James Mayer, Geological Science Professor Stephen Porter, Pharmacy Professor Kenneth Thummel and Atmospheric Sciences and Geophysics Professor Stephen Warren.

Zoology Professor Emeritus Aubrey Gorbman received a Presidential Award in Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring at a White House ceremony last September.


The University of Washington was ranked eighth nationally in a study of how many times science and social science faculty publications are cited in major journals. The newsletter Science Watch conducted a study of citations in 21 fields made from 1993 to 1997. The UW is in good company; the top seven institutions were Harvard, Stanford, CalTech, Yale, Michigan, MIT and Cal-Berkeley.

Home / Current Issue / Archives / Talk Back / Advertising / Columns FAQ / Alumni Website / Search