Back to
Columns Magazine
People in the News

Sherman Alexie, Senior Artist in Residence in the UW's American Ethnic Studies Department, received the 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for his book War Dances. He also received the Native Writers' Circle of the Americas 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award.

William Catterall, chair of the Department of Pharmacology at the UW School of Medicine, received the 2010 Canada Gairdner International Award—one of the world's most prestigious medical research awards—for his pioneering work on the molecular basis of electrical signaling by cells.

Chuck Close, '62, was nominated to serve on the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities. Close is best known for his large-scale, photo-based portrait paintings. In 2000, President Clinton presented him with the prestigious National Medal of the Arts.

Richard Ellenbogen, director of neurological surgery at Harborview Medical Center, has been named co-chairman of the NFL Head, Neck and Spine Medicine Committee.

Paul Miller, Henry M. Jackson Professor of Law, was nominated to the Board of Governors of the U.S. Postal Service.

Gary Oertli, '70, '72, has been named president of South Seattle Community College. He is a former president of the UW Alumni Association.

Jennifer Taylor, '69, received the Australian Institute of Architects 2010 President's Award. She is a professor at Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane, Australia.

Daniel Winterbottom, professor of landscape architecture, received a Great Places Award, a national prize awarded by the Environmental Design Research Association, for his Gardens of Hope.