Back to
Columns Magazine
News from the Dawghouse

The Huskies will host UCLA in a nationally televised ESPN Thursday night football game Nov. 18 at Husky Stadium. The game had originally been scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 13.

Dubs, the Alaskan Malamute serving as the 13th pet mascot in UW history, beat out 15 fellow contestants to win the NCAA Mascot Tournament put on by

Former Husky quarterback Damon Huard, '95, has joined the UW as a major gifts officer for the Tyee Club. Huard, who spent 13 years in the NFL, was a three-year starter for the Huskies and threw for 5,692 yards, which ranks third on the program's all-time list.

Senior golfer Nick Taylor was named Pac-10 Player of the Year for the second consecutive year after leading the Huskies to their third conference title in six years. Taylor is the only Husky ever to win the award.

Former Husky basketball star Eldridge Recasner, '90, was inducted into the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Hall of Honor. Recasner, the only three-time captain in UW basketball history, earned all-Pac-10 Conference honors three times (1988-90). He also played nine years in the NBA.

The WSU Shell House at Wawawai Landing on the Snake River was dedicated in the name of Ken Abbey, '60, '62, who died in 1995 at the age of 61. Abbey rowed with Husky Hall of Famer Dick Erickson at the UW and spent more than 20 years working to create WSU's rowing programs.

Husky men's basketball coach Lorenzo Romar agreed to a new, 10-year contract that extends to the 2019-20 season. Romar has led the Huskies to three NCAA Sweet 16 berths.

Junior Venise Chan made Husky women's tennis history when she was named to the All-Pac-10 First Team for the second year in a row. She finished with a 21-10 singles record this year, and joins Kristina Kraszewski as the only Huskies to win multiple All-Pac-10 First Team honors.

The defending national-champion UW women's softball team was picked as one of 16 hosts for the NCAA Division I regionals, which started as Columns went to press. The Huskies (45-6) won the 2010 Pac-10 title.