Extra Credit Print
Article Index
Extra Credit
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 5
Page 6
Page 7
Page 8
Honor Roll: The UW Salutes 14 Individuals and Two Units

The University will honor an additional 14 individuals and two units as part of its annual awards program, which recognizes outstanding performance in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support. The award winners will be celebrated at a special Recognition Ceremony, held at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, June 7, in Meany Hall, with a reception to follow. Alumni and the general public are welcome to attend. More information on all these award winners is available at uweek.org.

Excellence in Teaching Award for graduate teaching assistants: Jerusha T. Achterberg, anthropology, and Alex Coverdill, biology.

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award for faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the education of graduate students: Rajendra K. Bordia, materials science and engineering.

Distinguished Staff Awards: Marne Faber, Harborview Medical Center; Deborah Flores, engineering; Elaine Franks, psychology; Pamela Robenolt, student-athlete academic services; and Cynthia St. Clair, music.

Outstanding Public Service Award for a faculty or staff member with extensive local and/or national and international service: Erasmo Gamboa, American ethnic studies.

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award for faculty demonstrating leadership in community-based instruction: J. Carey Jackson, medicine.

James D. Clowes Award for the Advancement of Learning Communities for a faculty or staff member who transforms undergraduate learning by creating learning communities: James N. Gregory, history.

Brotman Award for Instructional Excellence, which recognizes collaboration that improves the quality of undergraduate education: Program on the Environment and Multidisciplinary International Research Training Program in epidemiology.

David B. Thorud Leadership Award honoring faculty and staff who lead, serve, inspire and collaborate with impact that is beyond their regular responsibilities: Eve A. Riskin, electrical engineering; and Donald H. Wulff, Center for Instructional Development and Research.
Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award for faculty who have taught for at least two years in non-degree programs: Jan Spyridakis, technical communication and engineering.