June 2004 - Class of Distinction. By Renata Birkenbuel, Jill Carnell and Erin Driscoll.

Since 1970, the University of Washington has honored its best teachers for striving to bring knowledge to the next generation. This year the UW has given its Distinguished Teaching Award to seven faculty on three campuses. In addition, the UW is honoring TAs, public servants and staff this month. All will be recognized at the UW Recognition Reception, held at 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 9 in Meany Hall and open to the public. Faculty and others will also be honored during the June 12 commencement exercises in Husky Stadium. What follows is a series of mini-profiles of teaching faculty, followed by brief listings of other award winners. Because some awardees were chosen after our deadlines, the September Columns will highlight the President's Medalist and the Brotman Diversity Award winners.

David AllenDavid Allen
Professor, School of Nursing

Ann BakerAnn Baker
Senior Lecturer, Dept. of Philosphy

Elizabeth CooperElizabeth Cooper
Director, Dance Program

Tessa Evans-CampbellTessa Evans-Campbell
Professor, School of Social Work

Stephen HansonStephen Hanson
Professor, Dept. of Political Science

Beth KalikoffBeth Kalikoff
Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Alan WoodAlan Wood
Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell


Excellence in Teaching Award
Recognizes Outstanding Educators Who Are Teaching Assistants

Lance Rhoades
Lance Rhoades
Comparative Literature

Britt Yamamoto
Britt Yamamoto

Raimonda ModianoMarsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Recognizes An Outstanding Faculty Member Who Advises Graduate Students
Raimonda Modiano

James ClowesS. Sterling Munro Public Service Faculty Award
Recognizes A Faculty Member Who Encourgaes Community-Based Instruction
James Clowes

Millie RussellOutstanding Public Service Award
Recognizes a Faculty or Staff Member Rendering Exceptional Public Service
Millie Russell

Stephen KerrDistinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
Recognizes a Faculty Member Rendering Exceptional Service to Continuing Education
Stephen Kerr

Eugene EdgarJames D. Clowes Award for Advanced Learning Communities
Recognizes Faculty or Staff Member Who Created or Sustained Advanced Learning Communities Among Students
Eugene Edgar

Distinguished Staff Award
Recognizes Outstanding Service to the University by Its Staff

Se Suk Aprille
Se Suk Aprille
Facility Services

Jackie Matthews
Jackie Matthews
Disability Services Office

Stacey McCandlish
Stacey McCandlish
UWMC Social Work

Michael Verchot
Michael Verchot
Business School

Lance Rhoades
Alan Weldin
School of Drama


—This article was written by Seattle free-lancer Renata Birkenbuel, UW Tacoma Writer Jill Carnell and Columns Intern Erin Driscoll, who graduates in June.

Home / Current Issue / Archives / Talk Back / Advertising / Columns FAQ / Alumni Website / Search