UWAA Honors Volunteers;
UW Seeks Best Profs, TAs, Grads For 1996 Awards

The UWAA Board of Trustees honored three individuals and two alumni groups for exceptional service at its Sept. 22 board meeting. "These volunteers show what the alumni association is all about," says Kay deMars, '90, UWAA awards chair.

The 1995 Volunteer of the Year Awards went to Todd Tarbert, '84, '88, head of the clubs committee; James B. King, '48, former chair of the Columns Advisory Committee; and Beverly Shaffer, '55, head of the San Diego Alumni Club.

Two alumni groups were also honored. The 1995 Partner Service Award went to the Atlanta Alumni Club for its wide range of programming. The 1995 Program of the Year was the Friends of Nursing Dinner-Soule Lecture for its excellent speakers and high attendance.

Looking ahead to the new year, the University of Washington and the UW Alumni Association invite nominations for the following 1996 awards, which will be presented during commencement festivities next June.

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus: Presented to a former student who has achieved national or international prominence in his or her work. Current faculty members and UW regents are not eligible. Letters of nomination should set forth the candidate's qualifications and include career and biographical information. Send nominations to: Jon K. Rider, UW Alumni Association, 1415 N.E. 45th St., Seattle, WA 98105. Deadline: Jan. 15, 1996.

Distinguished Teaching and Excellence in Teaching: These awards recognize outstanding UW educators. The Distinguished Teaching Award is for faculty, the Excellence in Teaching Award for teaching assistants. Send nominations to: Teaching Award Committee, c/o Dean Fred Campbell, 301 Gerberding Hall, Box 351237, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195. Deadline: Jan. 15, 1996.

Outstanding Public Service: Presented to a member of the University of Washington faculty or staff who has rendered exceptional public service locally, regionally or nationally. Nominations should be made through the faculty or staff member's academic unit. Send nominations to: Norm Arkans, Associate Vice President and Executive Director, University Relations, 400 Gerberding Hall, Box 351210, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195. Deadline: Jan. 29, 1996.

Send a letter to the editor at griffin@u.washington.edu.

Return to December 1995 Table of Contents.