Milestones Print
Four UW faculty members and two alumni were elected to the Institute of Medicine, a division of the National Academy of Sciences, in October. Faculty members include Medical History and Ethics Chair Wylie Burke, Clinical Medicine Professor Eric B. Larson (a former medical director of UW Medical Center), Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation Director Christopher Murray and Health Services Professor Edward Wagner. UW alumni Leighton Chan, ’92, ’96, chief of the rehabilitation medicine department at the National Institutes of Health; and Louis Ptacek, ’87, professor of neurology at the University of California, San Francisco; were also elected.

Biology Chair Thomas Daniel and Provost Phyllis Wise have been named members of the Scientific Advisory Board at the Allen Institute for Brain Science. The board, which is made up of nine members, provides expert advice for the institute, which has the mission of advancing basic brain research.

Governor Christine Gregoire, ’69, ’71, has selected UW Law School student Erin Lennon, ’02, as the UW student regent for the 2007–2008 academic year. Lennon graduated from the UW with a bachelor’s degree in sociology and is now in her third year of law school.

Former Washington State University President Lane Rawlins has been named interim director of the William D. Ruckelshaus Center. The Center, a joint project between UW and WSU, works to find long-term solutions to policy conflicts in Washington state, and to enhance the region’s capacity for problem solving.


Emeritus Professor of Architecture Frank Ching was awarded a National Design Award from the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum on July 18. First Lady Laura Bush hosted the event for Ching and 10 other winners at the White House.

Professor of Genome Science Philip Green has received the Fourth Annual UW Inventor of the Year Award for his research in gene analysis. His inventive computer software now provides sequencing for the three billion DNA pairs found in the human genome and represents the most important technical advance in DNA sequencing of the current decade.

UW physicians Barbara Goff and Constance Lehman have been awarded Ladies’ Home Journal’s Second Annual Health Breakthrough Award for their work in transforming health care for women and families. Goff, professor and director of gynecologic oncology at the UW, was honored for conducting two studies that detailed early warning signs for ovarian cancer. Her research led to a new set of ovarian cancer guidelines from the Gynecologic Cancer Foundation, the American Cancer Society and the Society of Gynecologic Oncologist. Lehman, director of Breast Imaging at UW Medical Center and Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, was honored for her work in magnetic resonance imaging and the detection of breast cancer.

Medicine, Pathology and Genome Science Professor Marshall Horwitz is the recipient of the 2007 National Institutes of Health Director’s Pioneer Award. Over the course of the next five years, he will use this $2.5 million grant to track mutations and map the fate of cells during embryonic development.