Volunteer Awards: Taking Time to Honor Those Who Give Time Print
On Oct. 27, during the Homecoming Kickoff event in Mary Gates Hall, the UW Alumni Association took a moment to recognize its own MVPs. Gregg Blodgett, ’76, president of the UWAA, honored six selfless UW graduates with the association’s Volunteer Star Awards: Dixie Porter, ’59, for her leadership of the Class of 1959 Cherry Tree Project Committee; Laurie Givan, ’93, who has served as president of the Young Alumni Club and chair of the UWAA House Committee; Michael Bronsdon, ’83, ’89, for his leadership on the Columns Advisory Committee and in the creation of several UWAA electronic publications; Tyrone Noble, ’75, for her volunteerism at events and her service as chair of the Marketing Committee; Rick Osterhout, ’76, ’78, vice president of the UWAA Board of Trustees and treasurer and past-chair of the Finance Committee; and Dan Murphy, ’77, who has worked at 11 UWAA events since he started volunteering in September 2005. “We just call him Mr. Dependable,” Blodgett said.