Back to
Columns Magazine


JERRY WHITE, ’50, a retired major general in the U.S. Air Force, has been elected vice chairman of the board for Aerospace Education for the Air Force Association.

DONALD McELIGOT, ’59, professor at the University of Idaho and the Idaho National Laboratory, received an award at the International Conference on Engineering Education for his leadership in innovative research and scholarship.


CHERYL TOWNSEND WINTER, ’73, ’79, ’81, ’09, has retired from her practice in periodontics practice. She is writing a book about aging.

DANIEL CHERKIN, ’74, ’78, AND CLARISSA HSU, 93, ’00, have received grant awards from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute. Cherkin is investigating back pain and Hsu is looking at ways to connect patients with community resources. The two are associated with both the UW and Group Health Cooperative.

SHERWIN R. SHINN, ’74, has received the American Dental Association’s 2013 Humanitarian Award for his 22 years of providing oral health care to people in more than 20 countries. He is also the co-founder of two organizations that work internationally to provide dental treatment.

LESLIE E. GRANT, ’78, was elected to lead the executive board of directors of the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention for the 2012-13 fiscal year.

GLENN R. STREAM, ’78, ’82, family physician in Spokane, has become board chair of the American Academy of Family Physicians.


NINA JABLONSKI, ’81, distinguished professor of anthropology at Penn State University, is starring in a YouTube video released by the National Institutes of Health discussing how lifestyle impacts the health of skin.

CAROLYN PHELPS, ’81, is hosting a program on public radio in Duluth, Minn., to educate the public about mental-health concerns. Phelps is a licensed psychologist.

RANDY DAHLGREN, ’84, ’87, professor and chair of the Department of Land, Air and Water Resources at UC Davis, received the Yandang Friendship Award from the city of Wenzhou, China, for his contributions as an expert in improving environmental quality.

BRANDT L. SCHNEIDER, ’86, has been named dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

CARRIE K. YORK, ’86, ’91, was inducted as a Fellow of the International College of Dentists at its 83rd annual convocation in San Francisco.


CHRIS ERICKSON, ’91, is the general manager of the Heathman Hotel in Portland, Ore. For the past 20 years, he has been in the hospitality profession.

CINDY HUANG, ’94, is an associate with the Seattle law firm Helsell Fetterman. She has also assisted low-income families through the King County Bar Association’s legal clinics.

KATHLEEN MOLES, ’95, has been named interim executive director of the Museum of Northwest Art in La Conner. She previously served as curator of exhibitions.


TARYN KAMA, ’02, was honored at the UW Women’s Center’s gala event: Women of Courage: Braving New Horizons. She started a company devoted to fostering women’s involvement in the outdoors.

TEMA MILSTEIN, ’07, received a 2012 Fulbright Award to study in New Zealand. She examined the challenges, successes and possibilities of sustainable ecotourism practices. She is a professor at the University of New Mexico.